Caturday felid contest: answers

Yesterday’s Caturday Felid showed photos of a bunch of famous (but not immediately recognizable) people with their cats, and I asked readers to guess the owners. Most of you got some of them right; I’m not sure that anyone got them all right. At any rate, here are the answers by number:

1.  Robert Redford
2.  Siouxsie Sioux
3.  Christopher Walken
4.  Jean Cocteau
5.  Freddie Mercury
6.  Stanley Kubrick
7.  Elizabeth Taylor
8.  Marianne Faithfull
9.  Yukio Mishima
10. Jane Pauley
11. Henri Matisse (for crying out loud!)
12. Carole Lombard
13. Gustav Klimt

Curiously, it was the painters, Klimt and Matisse, who were most often missed. I know the Klimt picture well, but I doubt that I would have guessed Matisse had I not looked up the photo.

No prizes will be awarded, but perhaps we’ll do it again some time. . .

5 Comments

  1. Diana MacPherson
    Posted March 23, 2014 at 6:12 am | Permalink

    Sadly, I rarely recognize painters. I guess it’s because they are not in their paintings. We see authors more often because usually there is a picture of them in their book or if they are well known, we see them on TV or in articles about them.

  2. Merilee
    Posted March 23, 2014 at 6:31 am | Permalink

    I should’ve gotten the Matisse! I’ve seen all kinds of pictures of him doing his cut- outs in bed but I guess always sans chats.

  3. ploubere
    Posted March 23, 2014 at 9:02 am | Permalink

    Those painters precede the age of self-promotion. They might not have even had publicists.
    “America is the only country in the world where failing to promote yourself is regarded as being arrogant” – Garry Trudeau

  4. Irene Gibson
    Posted March 23, 2014 at 10:34 am | Permalink

    In honor of #12, we got out an old tape last night and watched “My Man Godfry”……still a delight!

    Failed miserably in naming the famous owners, but appreciate every single one!!!

  5. bric
    Posted March 23, 2014 at 11:08 am | Permalink

    If you are in London between 17 April – 7 September 2014 Tate Modern is staging what they claim is the only exhibition ever to bring together all of Matisse’s cut-outs

    http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/exhibition/henri-matisse-cut-outs


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28,320 other followers

