Another Ceiling Cat Special

My invented recipe, the “Ceiling Cat Special” (which a reader says is merely a variant of a Central American dish), has been prepared by reader Grania. My own version uses black beans, rice, yogurt, and lots of caramelized onions, while Grania made it using kidney beans, rice boiled in chicken stock, onions, and Greek-style yogurt, served with a side of cherry tomatoes.

She pronounces it delicious, and here it is:

CC special

One can’t patent recipe names, but I do think this is one of the tastiest, and healthiest dishes you can make in 10 minutes (after the rice is cooked, of course).

10 Comments

  1. Grania Spingies
    Posted March 19, 2014 at 1:52 pm | Permalink

    Served with a lovely glass of Prosecco ;)

    • Taskin
      Posted March 19, 2014 at 3:12 pm | Permalink

      Bubbles!

    • Marella
      Posted March 19, 2014 at 3:31 pm | Permalink

      My favourite!

    • Kevin
      Posted March 19, 2014 at 8:35 pm | Permalink

      I’ve got a bottle of that in the fridge…I will make the dish this weekend…yum.

  2. Posted March 19, 2014 at 3:29 pm | Permalink

    Looks wonderful!

  3. Diane G.
    Posted March 19, 2014 at 5:49 pm | Permalink

    Yum!

  4. Achrachno
    Posted March 19, 2014 at 9:20 pm | Permalink

    Looks very tasty, but I think the cat would like it better with a bit of roasted chicken on the side.

  5. JBlilie
    Posted March 20, 2014 at 4:46 am | Permalink

    Yum yum, eat ‘em up!

  6. Posted March 20, 2014 at 11:33 am | Permalink

    I must go out this weekend to buy cans of black beans, Greek yogurt as well as sour cream. Maybe some naan bread too. I’ve had a hankering for this dish. I’ve already roasted and stashed a Poblano chili pepper in olive oil to go with it.

  7. ratac
    Posted March 21, 2014 at 5:49 pm | Permalink

    Hello, I think that I´am that reader.
    I said that the “CCS Evolved” looked like a generic Mexican dish, but your CCV is special: At first glance it looked gross to me (few Mexicans can conceive a mixture of beans and yogurt). Now, I think that it can be improved with walnuts, goat cheese, sweet corn, huitlacoche and chile poblano, I said that the epazote was essential in dishes involving boiled black beans, but I think that (maybe) with a dish like the CCS (with a sweet taste) it isn’t the case.
    I hope to comment the results within a week.
    (Sorry for the engrish)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,147 other followers

