Read the Roolz!

I don’t know how often I have to tell new commenters (or remind the old commenters) to read the rules for posting on this website (“Da Roolz!” posted on the sidebar, or here).

See where they are?

Screen shot 2014-03-18 at 11.27.41 AM

I will try to make this more obvious, perhaps changing the name to “Rules for commenting on this site”. But at any rate, every reader, new or old, should know these. I am continuing to get violations, ranging from people complaining about being censored when I haven’t yet approved their first comment, to people who are asking me to publicize their causes, or telling me that one of their suggestions “would make a good post.” Hey, guys, don’t do that!

Back to business as usual. . .

23 Comments

  1. Posted March 18, 2014 at 9:36 am | Permalink

    I see it’s not linked from anywhere very near the comment box itself. Do you think that would help? (Or is the problem that the people who need to read it don’t read?)

  2. Posted March 18, 2014 at 9:47 am | Permalink

    OK, question. I have been sending you things, mostly cat related. Personally, I’m just sharing for your amusement. If you want to post a photo or a cat-related link, well, you know the other readers better than I do.

    Are we not supposed to send things to you unless they are wildlife photos?

    • Posted March 18, 2014 at 9:56 am | Permalink

      No, no. Readers are welcome to send me anything that might interest me or other readers. It dooesn’t have to be wildlife photos. All I ask is that people refrain from applying pressure when they do so, like saying, “This would make a good post for your site.”

      • Sean
        Posted March 18, 2014 at 10:56 am | Permalink

        I have been guilty of this, and I apologize!

  3. Posted March 18, 2014 at 9:59 am | Permalink

    Not even going to lie, I clicked the red text “Read the Rules” underneath Twitter Updates at least three times before I clicked “Da Roolz”.

    I think I need a cup of tea.

  4. Diana MacPherson
    Posted March 18, 2014 at 10:05 am | Permalink

    Maybe Jerry should send this to naught rule violators (what Neo’s boss told him):

    You have a problem with authority, Mr. Anderson. You believe you are special, that somehow the rules do not apply to you. Obviously, you are mistaken.

    :D

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted March 18, 2014 at 10:06 am | Permalink

      ha ha naughty not naught.

      • JBlilie
        Posted March 18, 2014 at 11:24 am | Permalink

        Mr. Anderson … :)

        I am Hugo Weaving and I approve this message.

      • Dominic
        Posted March 19, 2014 at 2:30 am | Permalink

        A zeroth rule?

  5. gravityfly
    Posted March 18, 2014 at 11:20 am | Permalink

    Don’t change the name to “Rules for commenting on this site”.

    “Da Roolz!” is much cooler. Plus, no other website has it! :)

  6. JBlilie
    Posted March 18, 2014 at 11:25 am | Permalink

    Thank you sir for maintaining quality control!

  7. Frank Stabile
    Posted March 18, 2014 at 12:46 pm | Permalink

    Ah no I sent Dr. Coyne something for the first time a few days ago. I don’t think I said anything like “this would make a good post,” but now I am second guessing myself. I’ll have to check my outbox now (sorry if I did use that phrase). More proofreading necessary!

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted March 18, 2014 at 6:01 pm | Permalink

      He does read a lot of these things. I send him a couple of things a week (I guess) which I think he may find interesting, or even post-worthy, say why I think they’re relevant to the site (well …) and leave it to him. I get around an email back each month, showing that he does read these things, though I don’t get a submission in that often.
      I preface the subjects with “[WEIT]” so that he can ignore them until lunch/ coffee/ whenever. Or even auto-filter them into the bit-bucket.

  8. Diane G.
    Posted March 18, 2014 at 11:49 pm | Permalink

    I love the discipline on this site. But I can see how a new poster would not even notice the Roolz link on the sidebar.

    I wonder if adding a “NEW HERE? READ THIS” above or below it would help?

    (I would still expect a lot of newcomers to ignore it; in general, sidebars are not mandatory reading for anyone…)

    • HaggisForBrains
      Posted March 19, 2014 at 2:38 am | Permalink

      I think davidgerard (#1 above) has a good suggestion; a remark next to “Post a Comment” would help. However, I suspect that WordPress may not permit a change in that area.

      • Diane G.
        Posted March 19, 2014 at 11:04 pm | Permalink

        Totally agree. But had also already arrived at the conclusion in your last sentence.

        Jerry’s such a big draw, though, I wonder if he can throw his weight around with the good people at WP? :D

        (Something like an automatically issued return email to a first-time poster would be cool, too. It could explain the wait for moderation and suggest a look at Da Roolz. I should think that would come in handy for a lot of WP bl*g authors.)

        • HaggisForBrains
          Posted March 20, 2014 at 1:42 am | Permalink

          Yep, email idea is good. I love the cool smiley – I can never remember which way to do them here, so I’ll try a few tests :) :-) :D :-D

          Cheers,

          Colin.

          • HaggisForBrains
            Posted March 20, 2014 at 1:43 am | Permalink

            Wow, they all worked. Now I’m really happy :-D

          • Diane G.
            Posted March 20, 2014 at 3:41 pm | Permalink

            Banal as it is, I hated the old WP smilies. Love the new ones. My prayers have been answered. ;) <–test

            • HaggisForBrains
              Posted March 21, 2014 at 1:25 am | Permalink

              All praise be to Ceiling Cat, who truly works in mysterious ways

  9. George
    Posted March 19, 2014 at 5:28 am | Permalink

    Too many cats and boots!! But I am not complaining. Sometimes I love the food entries. But if the food entry makes me start to salivate and get hunger pains, that can be painful. Especially Chinese and BBQ. Fortunately, there is a good BBQ place not far from me so that solves part of the problem.

    http://www.elginbbqpit.com/

    Unfortunately, no good Chinese. Just the standard stir fry lathered in brown sauce. Have to head into Chinatown to take care of that craving.

    Seriously, thank you for the html lesson in 14. I have been guilty of violating that rule – and it bothers me. I was too lazy to figure out how to get just a link and not an embedded video. Of course this means that there is a reward to sloth – just wait long enough and someone else will take care of the problem.

    • HaggisForBrains
      Posted March 20, 2014 at 1:50 am | Permalink

      Rule 14 – I keep a copy of the HTML formulation in a notepad which lives on my desktop so any time I want to include a link, I can just copy and paste the HTML and change the appropriate bits. Note that I find in WordPress that I have to delete the quotation marks around “URL” each time and replace them with the ones above “2” on my keyboard – d*g knows why!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,795 other followers

