Website business

Two quick items:

1. The winner of the Cat Confessions Contest (see the six finalists here, and all entries here) will be announced on Monday morning. Remember that the winner gets an autographed book, but there may be an extra surprise. If you own one of those miscreant moggies, be sure to pay attention to Monday’s post.

2. I’ve finally, after general clamor, put together a list of commenting rules for the site, which will go as a permanent “Da Roolz” widget on the left sidebar. ┬áThat should be up early next week, and I’ll announce it. After that there will be no excuse for bad behavior on this site!

kthxbai

11 Comments

  1. Diana MacPherson
    Posted March 7, 2014 at 3:59 pm | Permalink

    There was an excuse for bad behaviour before. I guess I have until Monday to break bad. :D

  2. alexandra moffat
    Posted March 7, 2014 at 4:05 pm | Permalink

    rooting for Mayhem, granddaughter has 2 Bengals, one of which could share the name.

  3. Stephen Barnard
    Posted March 7, 2014 at 4:05 pm | Permalink

    You will be pleased that I’ve moved WEIT from the “blogs” bookmark folder to the “cats” folder.

  4. Posted March 7, 2014 at 4:59 pm | Permalink

    Not sure how much credit to give to the Urban Dictionary, but it says that ktxbai is ‘generally used with contempt, or hasty exit’ – so I will go with hasty exit! :-)

    • ammasbhavya
      Posted March 7, 2014 at 5:23 pm | Permalink

      I’d give UD a thumbs down for that definition. Definitely likened to, “Cheers, thanks. T’ra!” as the person beetles off – perhaps to continue writing a book or off to Edwardo’s for a ‘za ;-)

      • Posted March 7, 2014 at 5:32 pm | Permalink

        Yes, it seems pretty innocuous to me, as in OK, thanks, good bye.

      • moarscienceplz
        Posted March 7, 2014 at 5:34 pm | Permalink

        I agree with you, ammasbhavya.
        Prof. Ceiling Cat’s “ktxbai”‘s have always felt to me much like this .

        • ammasbhavya
          Posted March 7, 2014 at 6:05 pm | Permalink

          ;-) Buttons chases Mindy while Rita sings a verse… You know now I won’t be able to stop singing that song. Hopefully it won’t morph into Pinky and the Brain… That was perfect!

  5. ammasbhavya
    Posted March 7, 2014 at 5:25 pm | Permalink

    As far as Da Roolz, I’m new here and already feel guilty ;-)

  6. Charles Sullivan
    Posted March 8, 2014 at 2:25 am | Permalink

    Sorry for this. Email to you failed.

    Dear Professor Coyne,

    I have been watching foreign films (i.e, non-American, International, etc) quite regularly for the last few years. I was glad to see that you appreciated ‘Tokyo Story’ as much as I did.

    I would humbly suggest that you consider watching the film ‘Another Year’ directed by Mike Leigh (2010).

    It’s not the same, nor is it as good as, Tokyo Story. But you might find a few similar themes. There is more pathos in ‘Another Year’ than is in ‘Tokyo Story.’

    But I do hope you like it, if you decide to watch it.

  7. elsburymk14
    Posted March 8, 2014 at 12:44 pm | Permalink

    Any chance there could maybe be just once tinncy winncy doggie contest on your website? Pretty please?


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29,448 other followers

