Jerry Coyne at 7 weeks

I am flying to Boston this afternoon for R&R and won’t return until Monday evening. Ergo, posting will be light—unless, that is, my readers don’t want me to have a life.  But as a fare-thee-well-treat, here’s a video of my namesake.

Reader Gayle Ferguson took and uploaded this video of ginger tabby Jerry Coyne at 7 weeks of age. Her latest report from New Zealand:

Yesterday he ate a bit of chicken loaf and this morning a wee bit of beef loaf and now tonight he’s really keen on the tuna loaf!  And he’s also really keen on having his long fur brushed with a toothbrush.

Yes, Jerry is as hirsute as his namesake. Several decades ago a gay friend of mine, who had long been in the closet but suddenly emerged, took me to dinner to meet his gay friends. One of them looked me over and proclaimed, “My—he’s a furry one, isn’t he?”

It was dicey geting this video loaded:

I am uploading it to YouTube but the kittens have damaged my Macbook charger cable by biting it and now it won’t charge my Macbook.  I have 9 mins of battery left and 6 mins to go on my YouTube upload. if it gets up before we die you might be able to see it. That horrible hissing background noise is cicadas; we’re experiencing a population explosion presently.

In only three weeks, when the kittens weigh about one kg., they’ll be put up through adoption by gutterkitties.com.  If you live in New Zealand, please consider adopting one.  I will be sad to lose track of Jerry Coyne, so I’m hoping a Kiwi reader takes him and keeps his name. I’d like to see what he looks like when he’s all grown up.

23 Comments

  1. David Andrews
    Posted February 27, 2014 at 5:40 am | Permalink

    Boston for R&R??…Jerry, it’s pretty darn cold here!

    • Duncan
      Posted February 27, 2014 at 5:48 am | Permalink

      Brrrrrr&r?

      • David Andrews
        Posted February 27, 2014 at 5:53 am | Permalink

        8F this AM (Amesbury, north of Boston), and snow on the way….

    • Posted February 27, 2014 at 6:06 am | Permalink

      What are you all—a bunch of wimps? I’m supposed to go to FLORIDA or something? Boston is lovely at all times of year, and it’s also the home of several good friends.

      • Duncan
        Posted February 27, 2014 at 6:46 am | Permalink

        Definitely a wimp. 8C in Leeds today and I wore a fleece on my walk into work. Maybe because I’m not that furry.

      • gravelinspector-Aidan
        Posted February 28, 2014 at 5:13 am | Permalink

        It drops to 25C during the evenings here … but I still have to go out into the steam bath during the middle of the day.
        I dream of 8C. I dream of ice forming in my beard … sacrificed to the gods of gas mask fitting.
        Enjoy Boston!

        • Diana MacPherson
          Posted February 28, 2014 at 6:59 am | Permalink

          It dropped to -25 C here last night! :(

          • gravelinspector-Aidan
            Posted March 2, 2014 at 2:42 am | Permalink

            I interrupted the wife’s phone call to one of her friends in Noyabrsk last night. -50 there. Centigrade.
            Nothing out of the ordinary.

  2. Linda Grilli Calhoun
    Posted February 27, 2014 at 6:00 am | Permalink

    Nice to see that somebody else’s house besides mine looks like kitty kindergarten.

    And, Jerry, please, please don’t tell us that you, too, brush your fur with a toothbrush. L

  3. Matt G
    Posted February 27, 2014 at 6:20 am | Permalink

    At seven weeks, Jerry Coyne would probably be indistinguishable from Jerry Coyne. Of gestation, that is….

  4. still learning
    Posted February 27, 2014 at 7:23 am | Permalink

    Feisty little guy, isn’t he? Love how he takes on that evil strap and subdues it.

  5. Posted February 27, 2014 at 7:31 am | Permalink

    Then let there be light…posting that is. :-)

    Kudos to Gayle for doing such a great job fostering the floofy ones!

  6. Diana MacPherson
    Posted February 27, 2014 at 7:46 am | Permalink

    We want you to have a life but we want you to put that beneath stuff that concerns us and our happiness. :)

    • gravityfly
      Posted February 27, 2014 at 7:51 am | Permalink

      Yes, it’s the voice of many against one!

    • ammasbhavya
      Posted March 3, 2014 at 9:12 pm | Permalink

      Brilliantly stated Diana and GravityFly!

      Judging from what I see is still to be read looks like PCC is finding time for concerns and happiness during his Bostonian sojourn. He misses all of you! It’s a giggle when he says posting will be light because he’s working on his book and traveling ;-) Light indeed!

  7. Draken
    Posted February 27, 2014 at 9:53 am | Permalink

    Is Gayle talking about Periodical Cicadas? I thought those were American.

    • dongiovanni
      Posted February 27, 2014 at 12:54 pm | Permalink

      I don’t think so, seeing as it happens every year. I think it’s probably just overpopulation.

      • een
        Posted February 27, 2014 at 4:43 pm | Permalink

        They’re known here as chorus cicadas – Amphipsalta zelandica. The sound of the NZ summer. Males gather together to sing and clap their wings to attract the females.

        The calls can get so loud in chorus that the noise reaches the level at which people can suffer hearing loss – 90 decibels I think.

  8. Posted February 27, 2014 at 10:37 am | Permalink

    All the world’s a kitten toy when you’re a kitten….

    b&

  9. Diane G.
    Posted February 27, 2014 at 1:42 pm | Permalink

    Wow, sounds just like Jerry, too! :D

    Winston, next to me licking the remains of the chicken-salad container, jumped to attention when Jerry Coyne started mewing.

    (Tell Jerry Coyne I think Winston was quaking in his boots.)

  10. Posted March 2, 2014 at 8:24 am | Permalink

    What an adorable kitten! If I lived in NZ, I’d adopt him and his siblings in a heart-beat.
    :)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30,615 other followers

