Polar Bear Cam

Reader Mary informs me that Explore is hosting a live polar bear cam, or several (there are four live views). These are apparently on remote-controlled vehicles, and you can watch the bears here.  So far I haven’t seen a bear, but there appear to be operators zooming around. I’ll post a screenshot when I see an ursid.  The best hours for viewing, it says, are between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Chicago time (six hours later in Britain).

Remember, see these magnificent creatures while you can, for humans are killing them by changing the climate. When the sea ice goes, so go the bears.

7 Comments

  1. gbjames
    Posted November 14, 2013 at 9:01 am | Permalink

    I see two of them off in the distance.

  2. Draken
    Posted November 14, 2013 at 9:10 am | Permalink

    It’s about 10:15AM there and I only see polar bears with four wheels.

  3. Posted November 14, 2013 at 12:01 pm | Permalink

    2:00 pm EST…. close-up of bear digging in the snow.

  4. Diana
    Posted November 14, 2013 at 6:19 pm | Permalink

    At first I was annoyed that the temperature in Churchill, Manitoba was 0. Then I realized that was Fahrenheit. It’s -17 C. Brrrrr!

  5. MJones
    Posted November 15, 2013 at 7:27 am | Permalink

    8:15 am I’m watching what appears to be a young bear playing in a snow bank.

  6. marksolock
    Posted November 15, 2013 at 10:32 pm | Permalink

    Reblogged this on Mark Solock Blog.

  7. Bob J.
    Posted November 15, 2013 at 11:17 pm | Permalink

    I just back from Churchill and so many polar bears. (I just emailed you mom and cub photo.)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29,482 other followers

