Foul weather boots

It may actually snow in Chicago today, so it’s time to don some sturdy boots that don’t mind a bit of slush. These are Lucchese “San Antonios,” made about thirty years ago when the Lucchese Boot Company was making just one kind of “factory” boot in the eponymous Texas town. It was perhaps the best mass-produced boot ever made in America: the quality was impeccable, almost equivalent to that of a custom boot. But you bought them off the rack.  Now, sadly, the company makes at least three lines of boots, with the bottom two being flimsy and the top line, the Lucchese “classics,” being of good quality but not as good as the standard boot of yore.

Here are some sturdy Lucchese San Antonios. They will never wear out; I can just get them resoled if they need it.  They show a bit of their age, but I like that.

boots

 

10 Comments

  1. Posted November 11, 2013 at 5:58 am | Permalink

    Agrarian, vintage, reliable, tenacious, and slightly tattered. The quintessential November boot.

    • Posted November 14, 2013 at 3:52 pm | Permalink

      I took my cowboy boots with me when I Entered the College of the U of Chicago. (During the Hutchins-Adler days, when The College was a distinct entity, with a dedicated faculty – that is, faculty who taught only in The College, not in any of the Graduate Divisions) In the winter the UC campus becomes a sea of mud – cowboy boots (which have been waterproofed with saddle soap) are ideal for negotiating across campus.

  2. darrelle
    Posted November 11, 2013 at 6:35 am | Permalink

    I have a pair of Lucchese that are 30 years old, to the exact year. I almost missed a plane in order to buy these boots. The taxi driver could not find Lucchese. I found that suspicious, but what are you going to do? I have never sprung for a pair of custom boots but, with that in mind, these are easily the best pair of boots I’ve had. I would have bought more over the years, but for the waning in quality and reputation that Jerry described.

    Later the same year I bought the boots a dorm neighbor decided they looked better on him and stole them right out of my closet. A few weeks later, during which I was sure I would never see them again, I noticed them sitting in his room (sloppy!) during an open door whole floor party. Naturally, I took them back. And explained to him how not cool stealing my boots was.

    • moarscienceplz
      Posted November 11, 2013 at 11:15 am | Permalink

      …And that dorm neighbor’s name was Bernie Madoff, right?

  3. Posted November 11, 2013 at 8:42 am | Permalink

    If these are foul-weather boots, one wonders about fowl-leather boots….

    b&

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted November 11, 2013 at 2:17 pm | Permalink

      Fowl leather for foul weather. You’ve got the slogan, now you need the merchandise! I feel a bit like Larry Tate!

  4. Diana MacPherson
    Posted November 11, 2013 at 2:18 pm | Permalink

    It is snowing here now but I’ve treated all my boots & my salt resistant ones I wear on slushy days (they are made in Canada in Montreal – La Canadienne and those things can take a lot of abuse and look new).

    I’m really hoping they won’t have needed to salt bridges as I’m driving my summer car that doesn’t get salty!

    • Hempenstein
      Posted November 11, 2013 at 7:01 pm | Permalink

      I share your angst about salt trucks, and I’m really impressed that there’s someone else who feels the same way.

      • Diana
        Posted November 11, 2013 at 7:41 pm | Permalink

        Happily, I think I avoided salt but I didn’t have an ice scraper o get the ice & snow off, so I turned the heat on high then I used a soft rag that I keep in the trunk.

        I should’ve used a credit card, duh!

        I hate the salt. I get my car that I drive in winter “pickled” with oil treatment to prevent rust.

  5. Hempenstein
    Posted November 11, 2013 at 6:58 pm | Permalink

    A reference to Bob Wills is obvious, but with boots like these, you might attract Emmylou Harris.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25,596 other followers

