Reader’s eclipse photos, one with cat

Reader “gravelinspector” travels the world as a geologist, working (I gather) on oil rigs. Right now he’s on a ship in the Gulf of Guinea, and has a post on his website, Rock Sniffer’s Scribbles, about watching and photographing the eclipse.  Here’s one of the pictures (click to enlarge):

Eclipse

Reader Sara sent me a photo of the eclipse in which the eclipse isn’t really visible, but something else of interest is:

This picture is photographically underwhelming, but I thought you might enjoy it. I went out on my balcony this morning to see if I could catch a bit of the eclipse – I live in Montreal, so the partial phase of the eclipse was to be visible from sunrise at 6:37 ET until about 7:12. Of course I couldn’t see anything of note given my tiny amateur camera, not to mention the ribbon of cloud on the horizon. But it was still a pretty sunrise.

After a while, I noticed that my neighbour’s cat was watching me from the window with great curiosity. Unless he was also hoping to see the eclipse?

IMG_6549

9 Comments

  1. uglicoyote
    Posted November 3, 2013 at 9:32 am | Permalink

    Reblogged this on The Road.

  2. gravelinspector-Aidan
    Posted November 3, 2013 at 9:34 am | Permalink

    I have this cunning plan to get some work in Antarctica, Australasia, or Indonesia. Then, when I’m in my retirement home at Earth-Moon Lagrange point 1, I can wave negligently out of the window at the Big Blue Marble and say “I worked there” without checking my watch first. There’s less than a quarter of the sky from which you can’t see one of my (former) workplaces. That bloody “Pacific” thing gets in the way.

    • Posted November 3, 2013 at 9:38 am | Permalink

      Of those three, I’d probably go for Enzed. Antarctica would be an amazing place to visit, but I wouldn’t want to stay very long. And same thing with Indonesia, but for the political climate, not the atmospheric one.

      But I could definitely imagine being happy spending an extended period of time amongst the Kiwis…

      b&

  3. Lianne Byram
    Posted November 3, 2013 at 9:39 am | Permalink

    Cool. I think all I saw was the sun going behind a cloud.

  4. Diana MacPherson
    Posted November 3, 2013 at 9:44 am | Permalink

    Nicely done! I’m jealous because I want to have all the eclipses to myself like the preciousssss. :D

    • Posted November 3, 2013 at 9:48 am | Permalink

      Well, if you can make it to east Antarctica in late April next year, I imagine you won’t have to share that one with very many others….

      b&

  5. gravelinspector-Aidan
    Posted November 3, 2013 at 10:58 am | Permalink

    Sara’s neighbour’s cat is obviously thinking “After a hard morning’s eclipse watching, why hasn’t that human called my staff on the jangly-bells-talking-into-box to tell them that it’s my breakfast time? Pfffth, can’t get the staff these days.”
    Cat’s, being naturally nocturnal, are obviously astronomers. Solar astronomers.

    • gravelinspector-Aidan
      Posted November 3, 2013 at 10:59 am | Permalink

      My grocer want’s his apostrophe back!

    • Posted November 3, 2013 at 1:23 pm | Permalink

      Indeed. Show me a cat who eschews a sunbeam, and I’ll show you a cat in need of veterinary attention.

      I just checked, and that’s exactly what Baihu is doing: laying, stretched out on the bed, just his face in the Sun (understandably so because it is a bit less cool today, only 80° with no clouds).

      b&


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29,567 other followers

