We Did Stop

Here’s a pretty funny spoof of the government shut-down based on Miley Cyrus’s abysmal song, “We Can’t Stop“.  It’s bit risqué, but not R-rated. It’s funnier if you can bear to watch the original video.

Cyrus hosted Saturday Night Live two weeks ago, presumably where this video appeared.

I have to say that. although I used to be glued to the tube every Saturday night, I no longer watch SNL. I started seeing it during the glory days of The Not Ready for Prime Time Players:  Radner, Curtin, Belushi, Akroyd, Chase, and Newman, and for decades it’s never come close to that original cast. Samurai deli-man, Emily Litella, the Blues Brothers, Weekend Update (“Jane, you ignorant slut!”), Roseanne Roseanneadanna: who can forget those? Gilda Radner and John Belushi were comic geniuses.

Gilda was at her best playing a little girl. I can’t find any clips of her classic performances, but here’s a compilation in which the sound’s been replaced with some cheesy music:

And the samurai sketches:

And then there were the killer bees, the Coneheads Consuming Mass Quantities.  . . . and so on. Maybe I’m just a curmudgeon, but I think that SNL, like rock and roll, has run its course.

h/t: John W.

68 Comments

  1. Posted October 10, 2013 at 3:07 pm | Permalink

    Pity we can’t watch it in Europe :-(
    “The uploader has not made this video available in your country.”

  2. gbjames
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 3:13 pm | Permalink

    I don’t watch anymore, either. But that Miley Cyrus bit does capture the GOP insanity pretty well.

  3. Ken Pidcock
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 3:31 pm | Permalink

    …and for decades it’s never come close to that original cast.

    Oh, I don’t think that’s true. They’ve had some very funny people over the years. I’d set Will Ferrell over any of the original cast. They’ve hit some troughs, one of which seems to be now, but SNL remains a forum for outstanding comic actors.

    A little while ago, somebody here linked to the Chris Farley interview of Paul McCartney. It doesn’t get much more entertaining than that.

    • µ
      Posted October 10, 2013 at 4:05 pm | Permalink

      Exactly! The older SNL needed more cowbell

    • Paul
      Posted October 11, 2013 at 8:24 am | Permalink

      SNL has always, even with the original cast, been 30 minutes of good material and an hour of filler.

      • eric
        Posted October 11, 2013 at 10:49 am | Permalink

        Have to mostly agree. This is yet another case of our human selective memory at work; all the Belushi and Radner skits people remember and cite are excellent not because a higher percent of their skits were excellent, but because we tend to selectvely remember the excellent ones. I bet if JAC sat down and watched any of the old 90 minute programs, he’d see that you’re right about an hour of it being relatively poor.

        Having said that, its certainly true that some comedians produced and performed better SNL material than others. I’d agree with JAC that Belushi and Radner were two. Murphy, Martin, Farley, Farrel…lots of them probably had more funny skits and moments than other SNL cast members.

  4. Posted October 10, 2013 at 3:37 pm | Permalink

    I am with you JC re the SNL of days gone by. The Samurai optometrist in the pic you chose is probably my favorite of that series.

    • Posted October 10, 2013 at 3:44 pm | Permalink

      They left out the best part – making a “tortoise shell” frame with his sword!!

      • Merilee
        Posted October 10, 2013 at 10:15 pm | Permalink

        LOL! I loved Samurai Delucatessen and Samurai Night Fever, too.

  5. tomh
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 3:44 pm | Permalink

    When you get to be my age, (I’m older than Jerry), you realize everything was better in the old days. Especially me.

    • Posted October 10, 2013 at 3:50 pm | Permalink

      Yup tomh, the older we get, the better we were :-)

  6. Jesper Both Pedersen
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 3:48 pm | Permalink

    For some reason this Miley character is growing on me.

    She seems to have a way of pushing a few buttons and it actually looks like she’s having fun while doing it.

    Good on her.

    • tomh
      Posted October 10, 2013 at 3:59 pm | Permalink

      Absolutely agree. And not everyone thinks her music is abysmal. This New York Times music critic, for instance.

      • Trophy
        Posted October 11, 2013 at 2:59 am | Permalink

        What do you mean “her” music? You mean music other people wrote for her that she is singing using autotune?

        • Jesper Both Pedersen
          Posted October 11, 2013 at 6:14 am | Permalink

          That is hardly a new concept in the music biz.

          Here she is with the roots and jimmy fallon, give it a listen and take a load off.

          (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2mjvfnUAfyo)

        • tomh
          Posted October 11, 2013 at 9:14 am | Permalink

          Trophy wrote:

          What do you mean “her” music?

          You really don’t know what I mean by her music? I mean music she released, under her name, sung by her. It’s not a difficult concept.

    • Posted October 10, 2013 at 4:12 pm | Permalink

      Yeah… mocking Sinead O’Connor for her suicidal thoughts is not exactly praise-worthy.

      • Jesper Both Pedersen
        Posted October 10, 2013 at 4:17 pm | Permalink

        I take it miley didn’t want her advice then. :-)

        • Diana MacPherson
          Posted October 10, 2013 at 4:38 pm | Permalink

          Yeah, guess it looks that way!

  7. Posted October 10, 2013 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

    …with musical guest, Frank Zappa, taking direction from Samurai be-bop musician. And it’s been all downhill from there.

  8. Diana MacPherson
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 3:56 pm | Permalink

    I liked the cast with Radner, Belushi, et al. but I also liked the cast with Dana Carvey, Mike Myers, Denis Miller etc. I think, like music, you tend to stick with whoever you grew up with.

    I remember we’d watch SNL then go out! Now I can’t even stay up long enough to watch SNL!

  9. Posted October 10, 2013 at 4:44 pm | Permalink

    Agree except with one more recent highlight:
    Tina Fey/Sarah Palin!

    • Merilee
      Posted October 10, 2013 at 8:47 pm | Permalink

      Yup!

      • Merilee
        Posted October 10, 2013 at 10:17 pm | Permalink

        Although I don’t wish for a Sarah Pee comeback just to watch Tina Fey do her again…

  10. rose
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 4:59 pm | Permalink

    Didn’t know she can actually sing.If that was her singing and today who knows if it was.

  11. AdamK
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 5:08 pm | Permalink

    Awhile back I went looking for some Franken & Davis clips on the Internet and could find nothing at all. I wonder if Sen. Franken is keeping them out of circulation on purpose. They used to crack me up.

    But the best SNL ever was Ed Grimley.

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted October 10, 2013 at 5:33 pm | Permalink

      Stuart Smalley was great – I bought his books as well as the Jack Handey Deep Thoughts ones.

    • Posted October 10, 2013 at 7:05 pm | Permalink

      …who was really an SCTV character before he was guested on SNL, I must say.

      • Diana MacPherson
        Posted October 10, 2013 at 7:14 pm | Permalink

        Yes, Ed Grimley is awesome. We used to immitate him in German class too….ich muss sagen!

  12. Kurtis RAder
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 5:19 pm | Permalink

    I was in high-school during the SNL glory years of the late 1970’s. Getting together at a friends house to watch SNL is one of my favorite memories. If you haven’t seen it watch the “Bass-O-Matic” sketch:

    It’s a spoof of a bunch of actual ads for real products whose names often ended in “matic” (e.g., Vegematic)

    • Paul S
      Posted October 11, 2013 at 7:53 am | Permalink

      Some of my favorites are Bass-O-Matic, Dan Aykroyd as Julia Child, Emily Litella “Making Puerto Rico a steak” and of course Eddie Murphy as Gumby.

      • Diana MacPherson
        Posted October 11, 2013 at 8:35 am | Permalink

        I also liked “I’m a handsome black man” which they expanded at one point to handsome . I thought it was so hilarious!

  13. Posted October 10, 2013 at 5:39 pm | Permalink

    My daughter still calls us “The Parental Units”.

    • Timothy Hughbanks
      Posted October 11, 2013 at 10:48 am | Permalink

      My brother calls his wife of thirty years his spousal unit … and back when he had hair (which was pretty much essential), his “Ed Grimley” impression was locally famous.

  14. JohnJay
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 6:16 pm | Permalink

    Oh my. I still can see Dan Akroyd doing the cooking skit as Julia Child… “Save the liver!”

    • Paul S
      Posted October 11, 2013 at 7:55 am | Permalink

      I’ve cut the dickens out of my finger!

  15. Posted October 10, 2013 at 6:20 pm | Permalink

    Gilda Radner was probably my all time favorite. Remember, “Let’s Talk Dirty to the Animals?”

    The animals,
    The animals,
    Let’s talk dirty to the animals!
    F–k you, Mr. Bunny!
    Eat S–t, Mr. Bear…
    If they don’t love it,
    They can shove it,
    Frankly I don’t care!

    (Better when sung… by her…)

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted October 10, 2013 at 6:36 pm | Permalink

      Ha ha – Yes, here’s an example

      Gilda was great and as a female, she was someone I admired because there weren’t very many female comedians. It wasn’t cool to be funny and female.

      • Merilee
        Posted October 10, 2013 at 8:49 pm | Permalink

        Beautifully rude and funny!!

      • Posted October 10, 2013 at 10:56 pm | Permalink

        One of my faves. I recently had to track down the vinyl LP of hers. Priceless addition to the novelty vinyl collection.

  16. James Rednour
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 8:20 pm | Permalink

    The original cast was great, but I think the late 80’s and early 90’s cast was the best. Dana Carvey, Kevin Nealon, Dennis Miller, Victoria Jackson, Jan Hooks, and the two funniest cast members ever, IMO: Chris Farley and Phil Hartman.

    I guess I’m the only person who never found Belushi the least bit funny. Or CHevy Chase, for that matter.

    • James Rednour
      Posted October 10, 2013 at 8:24 pm | Permalink

      If you’ve never seen Phil Hartman’s SNL audition, it is a masterpiece of smart humor. He was a comic genius.

      • James Rednour
        Posted October 10, 2013 at 8:25 pm | Permalink

        Sorry, Jerry. Didn’t mean to embed.

      • Diana MacPherson
        Posted October 11, 2013 at 6:57 am | Permalink

        That was genius. His German impressionist & his modernized Hamlet were great! I really miss Phil Hartman!

      • Vaal
        Posted October 11, 2013 at 8:02 am | Permalink

        Phil Hartman never did much for me. To me all he ever did was some version of “Cheesy Guy,” (cheesy middle aged Dad, cheesy narrator, cheesy salesman etc). He never really, to me, altered per role like many of the other excellent cast members.

        Vaal

    • James Rednour
      Posted October 10, 2013 at 8:40 pm | Permalink

      Shessh. I forgot Mike Myers. What a cast.

    • James Rednour
      Posted October 10, 2013 at 8:44 pm | Permalink

      Sorry. One more from Jan Hooks that is entirely appropriate for this bl*g.

    • eric
      Posted October 11, 2013 at 10:54 am | Permalink

      Don’t forget John Lovitz was in that cast too. And his wife, Morgan Fairchild!

  17. John
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 8:22 pm | Permalink

    I have been a fan of SNL since Day 1, and I too remember all the old gags and comedians. I too miss those days, but I am not quite ready to pitch the show. I still see some merit in it, and if for no other reason, it spoofs the kind of stupidity we all cringe over in government and the media. If they don’t spoof it, who else can? Jon Stewart and Colbert bring a lot of good stuff, but I will remain an SNL fan.

  18. Merilee
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 8:40 pm | Permalink

    We cannot forget the Land Shark. The wonderful Monterey Aquarium even has/had a loop of the Land Shark running next to the HUGE real shark tanks..

    Loved Gilda’s Presisential erections and Soviet jewelry…never mind:-)

  19. Mike Leegaard
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 8:58 pm | Permalink

    I enjoy Weekend Update. Drunk Uncle and Girl You Wish You Hadn’t Started a Conversation With at a Party are two of my favorite SNL characters in a long time.

    http://dailypicksandflicks.com/2013/04/07/snl-peter-dinklage-and-drunk-uncle-on-weekend-update-video/

  20. Kurt Helf
    Posted October 10, 2013 at 9:01 pm | Permalink

    I grew up in SNL’s heyday, too, Jerry and enjoyed the show every much; George Carlin’s comedy routine in SNL’s debut episode was hilarious. But there were clunker sketches, too, as I recall. However, my sister and I always waited with great anticipation for SCTV which always followed SNL on Chicago’s NBC affiliate WMAQ.

  21. Posted October 11, 2013 at 12:53 am | Permalink

    I agree with James that the late 80s and early nineties were also excellent. My fave was Myers’ Dieter.

    Dieter’s black attire and truly creepy body language along with lines like “You have disturbed me almost to the point of insanity…There. I am insane now” to this day provides much mirth.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sprockets_%28Saturday_Night_Live%29

    • Vaal
      Posted October 11, 2013 at 8:02 am | Permalink

      So true. Myers’ Dieter was brilliant.

      Oh gawd if only the movie had come to fruition…

    • Diana MacPherson
      Posted October 11, 2013 at 8:16 am | Permalink

      Oh yes! Sprockets! I loved that! Enjoy the Sprockets Dance!

  22. Posted October 11, 2013 at 4:47 am | Permalink

    I am the Mighty Favog. What’s ya problem?

    My sibs were lucky enough to see many originals pre SNL at Second City and we listen to Belushi, BD Murray etc on Nat Lamp Radio

    The scene in Caddyshack where Bill Murray eats the “floating vandalism” from the pool originally occurred at Kefauver High in ’64

  23. Posted October 11, 2013 at 4:48 am | Permalink

    listened, actually

  24. JonLynnHarvey
    Posted October 11, 2013 at 5:53 am | Permalink

    This reminds me of a button I saw for sale at a general store last weekend which read “it’s mot that I’m old. Your music really does suck.”

    I also enjoyed the Dana Carvey, Mike Meyers, Phil Hartman era. Hartman’s Bill Clinton ans Myrer’s Wayne’s World sketches were a delight.

  25. Hempenstein
    Posted October 11, 2013 at 6:48 am | Permalink

    As we head toward the solstice now, just want to add Jon Lovitz’ Master Thespian at Macy’s and the Lost Ending of It’s a Wonderful World> to the list.

  26. darrelle
    Posted October 11, 2013 at 7:30 am | Permalink

    I also grew up, and loved, watching the original cast SNL. After SNL we’d switch over to Night Flight for a Rock N Roll fix. Man, those were the days.

  27. Vaal
    Posted October 11, 2013 at 8:04 am | Permalink

    It’s fascinating the Belushi was always thought of as the chubby slob guy, but in the original SNL he was pretty much normally
    built, even “slender” by today’s standards of obesity.

    Vaal

  28. gmaduck
    Posted October 14, 2013 at 3:13 pm | Permalink

    True, SNL slid down hill for a while but they are on the upswing now. The Barry Black (Senate Chaplain) sketch on Weekend Update was excellent. And I asked at the Smoke Shop last week if they had any e-meth for sale. Great Halloween costume prop if you want to go as Jesse. His appearance on SNL was a real hit (pun)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30,636 other followers

