Discussion in Cracow

You probably won’t want to watch this, as it’s long, the lights are dim, and half of it is in Polish, but I’m putting it up for the record. This is a series of four videos (I’ll embed one and give links to the other three) of a discussion I had in a coffee shop (“Punkt Ka”) in Cracow, Poland with a group of Polish rationalists.  It’s pure Q&A. They total about two hours, and you may want to listen just for a few minutes to hear how sequential translation works and what intellectual discourse sounds like in Polish.

The videos are hosted by Jacek Tabisz, the president of the Polish Rationalist Organization, and the event was hosted by that organization. The woman who introduces me is the amiable Kaja Bryx, the main organizer of my visit. The translator, Julian Jelinski, did a terrific job, which you’ll see if you understand Polish.

As you can see, the room was filled to overflowing. This was true of my lecture in Warsaw as well, and I see it not as a reflection of me so much as the thirst of isolated Polish rationalists for voices and validation from other nations.  Poland is one of the most religious countries in Europe (95% of Poles are Catholics), and although atheists are beginning to form secular organizations, religion is still dominant, and interaction with rationalists from other nations is most welcome.

First video:

Video 2

Video 3

Video 4

5 Comments

  1. Posted September 28, 2013 at 12:47 pm | Permalink

    I imagine Poles have coffee as good as their pastries….

    b&

  2. Steven Obrebski
    Posted September 28, 2013 at 2:07 pm | Permalink

    For me this is a very nice excursion into the thoughts of like minded people in Poland. For me , the Polish is a bit difficult to follow because of the background noise and perhaps the more sibilant nature of the language (combined shch and shichi sounds and the like) and, since I don’t get to speak the language often, words that I don’t understand.
    Will listen to the lot several times over to see if there is anything else worth mentioning.
    Jerry, as usual, is concise and direct in answering the questions. great job.

    • Diane G.
      Posted September 28, 2013 at 10:52 pm | Permalink

      As Jerry suggested, I watched only a few minutes, just to get a feel for the format, so do post if anything especially catches your interest.

  3. Posted September 28, 2013 at 3:12 pm | Permalink

    >> Kaja Bryx

    One of the coolest names I have ever seen, how do you pronounce it?

    • Posted September 28, 2013 at 5:22 pm | Permalink

      KAH-yah BRIKS, more or less. The surname is rare and interesting (it has also variants spelt Bryks, Brykca or Bryksy). I wonder if Kaja knows that it is ultimately of Celtic (Gaulish) origin, being derived from the now forgotten given name Brykcjusz (Latinised as Brictius, Briccius or Bricius, English Brice). The name was more popular in the Middle Ages on account of St. Brice of Tours:

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brice_of_Tours


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29,405 other followers

