Dawkins tickets still available

A week from Thursday I’ll be “interviewing” Richard onstage at Northwestern University as part of his U.S. tour. There will be questions about his book, An Appetite for Wonder, but I hope to engage in a more wide-ranging conversation (many of you suggested questions a while back).

At any rate, I’m told that tickets are still available ($10 general, $5 for students; credit cards only), but they’re going fast.  You can purchase them, and get information about the event and time, at this site.

After our conversation Richard will answer audience questions for a while, and then he’ll sign copies of his book (warning: he won’t sign copies of other books you bring see correction below by Richard in comment #12; he’ll sign his other books, but not dedicate them).

I’m also told that I’ll have some copies of WEIT to sign at the kiddies’ table.

I may have a few tickets to spare near game day, so stay tuned. I sense a contest in the making.

31 Comments

  1. Posted September 24, 2013 at 3:35 pm | Permalink

    Sorry I can’t make it, but schedules just ain’t gonna line up….

    b&

    • Achrachno
      Posted September 24, 2013 at 9:54 pm | Permalink

      Dr. Dawkins will be at Cal Tech (Pasadena, CA) on Oct. 20 if that works any better. Hosted by Michael Shermer. Now, if we could just convince our host to fly out for that event too …

  2. Adam M.
    Posted September 24, 2013 at 3:52 pm | Permalink

    “Warning: he won’t sign copies of other books you bring.”

    Would he really turn someone away? That just doesn’t seem like him. :-P

    • Posted September 24, 2013 at 4:01 pm | Permalink

      It’s a matter of logistics and civility. Sometimes people bring stacks of books (some in duplicate) and the lines are very long.

      • Latverian Diplomat
        Posted September 25, 2013 at 6:56 pm | Permalink

        It seems like a one autograph per person rule would solve that. Is that not a rule for these sorts of things? (Bringing multiple books to a signing would never cross my mind, so I honestly don’t know).

  3. Greg Esres
    Posted September 24, 2013 at 3:57 pm | Permalink

    Dawkins jets across the Atlanta quite a lot and I’ve been wondering: who pays for all this. I assume that he gets an honorarium whenever he speaks? And I assume that his publisher foots the bill when he’s doing promotional appearances?

  4. merilee
    Posted September 24, 2013 at 3:59 pm | Permalink

    Speaking of RD, check out this interview whose link a friend just sent:

    http://thedianerehmshow.org/

  5. Posted September 24, 2013 at 4:23 pm | Permalink

    I saw Dawkins in New York yesterday, in conversation with Rebecca Goldstein, who I felt was a little under prepared and not very engaging. The event was nice enough but could have been better, I would love to see the Chicago event! I hope it’s recorded.

    For what it’s worth, Dawkins was signing any book afterwards, but not personalising them. I guess it depends on place to place, the venue last night holds about 700 and the line for signing was long but moved fairly quickly.

    I’m looking forward to reading the book, he read a couple of passages from them, one in particular was very moving and he did cry a little bit…

    • Eric L
      Posted September 24, 2013 at 6:12 pm | Permalink

      Chris! I was there too at BAM! I actually quite enjoyed the event. I agree that Goldstein was perhaps not the most engaging. However, I really wish they selected more interesting questions from the stack…I was a bit miffed. Asking him about John Steinbeck? What?

      • Merilee
        Posted September 24, 2013 at 6:25 pm | Permalink

        Goldstein is married to Steven Pinker, I believe. Too bad she wasn’t a better interviewer.

  6. jwthomas
    Posted September 24, 2013 at 4:42 pm | Permalink

    If you show him your UK hardcover First Edition of “The Selfish Gene” he might relent.

  7. Chak
    Posted September 24, 2013 at 5:11 pm | Permalink

    Surprised there are still tickets – I kept a watch until they went on sale assuming they will sell out.

    Is this the first time Dawkins is visiting Chicago? I dont remember seeing a visit before.

  8. Posted September 24, 2013 at 5:17 pm | Permalink

    I hope he makes it out to Colorado Springs (again)… my hardcover of Appetite just arrived today. (slated as a gift) Would be icing on the cake.

    • Posted September 24, 2013 at 5:38 pm | Permalink

      Shucky. Apparently flies over us on his way out to California. Oh well. Hoping everything goes peachy.

    • Merilee
      Posted September 24, 2013 at 5:44 pm | Permalink

      My copy arrived today, too:-). Would love to have caught RD in Chicago ( not to mention the Indian feast Jerry mentioned earlier) but we will be in the midst of a crazy Toronto- Whistler- Berkeley-Palo Alto -Moab-Toronto road trip…

      • Posted September 24, 2013 at 5:58 pm | Permalink

        YOW! That is some road trip! Memories of the arches near Moab are some of my most precious.

        • Merilee
          Posted September 24, 2013 at 6:09 pm | Permalink

          They are fantastic!! Whistler ain’t bad, either:-)

        • Cliff Melick
          Posted September 24, 2013 at 6:48 pm | Permalink

          If you’re a social network scientist, do you know my friend Ron Burt?

          • Posted September 24, 2013 at 7:02 pm | Permalink

            I know of his work – structural holes, if memory serves me. I haven’t used Burt’s measures in epidemiology, but very nearly revisited the stuff as recently as a year back. I may get the occasion to do so again very soon!

            • Cliff Melick
              Posted September 24, 2013 at 7:32 pm | Permalink

              Thanks for the reply. Ron and I studied under Nan Lin back in the early 70’s and have kept in touch over the years.

              My dissertation utilized network measures to demonstrate the changes of social differentiation linked to economic development in peasant societies.

              Now I better quit before Jerry gets on my case about being off-topic. :-)

          • Posted September 24, 2013 at 7:24 pm | Permalink

            Wow… nice to know the brain is still working somewhat. I didn’t realize Ron is out at UChicago. He must know Ed Laumann. I will revisit his measure(s) soon, as “structural holes” may somehow indicate persons in a network good to train for delivering health interventions. I also may be traveling out there soon, so thanks for the head’s-up. Steve

  9. Nwalsh
    Posted September 24, 2013 at 6:28 pm | Permalink

    I might have trecked down from southern BC to either Seattle or Portland, but both were SRO.

  10. Cliff Melick
    Posted September 24, 2013 at 6:44 pm | Permalink

    As much as I would love to hear Richard speak, a flight from the east coast to Chicago just isn’t in the cards right now.

    I have American first editions of all of Richard’s books (all of them read, too, BTW) and a signed copy of the Ancestor’s Tale. As much as I admire his skill at writing “science prose,” I have to say I enjoyed Jerry’s WEIT more than Richard’s Greatest Show on Earth.

    It would be a real kick to see both of them simultaneously, but it isn’t going to happen. This time, anyway. Catch your act next time, Jerry.

  11. ladyatheist
    Posted September 24, 2013 at 9:01 pm | Permalink

    A bit too far for me. I hope he’s not as depressing as he was tonight on The Daily Show, though he was handed a depressing question. In light of what he said about the year 2200, a question I’d like to see him answer is what advice he has for this year’s college freshmen, who will be 105 in 2200, assuming anybody survives at all.

    • John Scanlon, FCD
      Posted September 25, 2013 at 7:01 am | Permalink

      I think you mean 205. Best of luck to them; good advice might be ‘Stay a bit hungry, look twice before crossing the road, and never get into a land war in Asia.’

  12. Posted September 24, 2013 at 9:06 pm | Permalink

    Actually I am always happy to sign other books that people bring along, not just the latest one. But I usually don’t dedicate books because it holds up the line too much.

    Richard

    • merilee
      Posted September 24, 2013 at 9:13 pm | Permalink

      Jon Stewart was not at his best in questioning you. I’ve read and loved most of your books (just rec’d the latest today). I think Climbing Mount Improbable is my favorite.

      BTW, I loved your evolution tie!

    • Dominic
      Posted September 25, 2013 at 1:41 am | Permalink

      Tell them the Bill Hamilton stories that you told us in the Times talk with Danny Finkelstein!

    • Posted September 25, 2013 at 3:11 am | Permalink

      Whoops, sorry to give out misinformation, Richard. I stand corrected.

  13. Dominic
    Posted September 25, 2013 at 1:40 am | Permalink

    He won’t do personal dedications in books either – I suppose he would be there forever otherwise.

  14. freethinkinfranklin
    Posted September 25, 2013 at 3:15 am | Permalink

    it comforts and pleases me to see ticket prices at such a reasonable price, reminds me of the days one could see the Allman Brothers or the Kinks for under 5 bucks…. ahhhh the old days …. :-)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29,305 other followers

