Peregrinations and talks: Poland

I’m taking off Tuesday until September 18 for some R&R, as well as two talks, in Poland.  This is a place I’ve never been, and I’m terribly excited. Posting here may be lighter than usual, but I’m bringing my camera and connector cord, will have wireless, and so will try to document my adventures—culinary and otherwise.

Here is a note for Polish readers, or those who happen to be in Warsaw and Cracow, on where and when I’ll be speaking.

In Warsaw, I’ll be speaking on the incompatibility of science and religion on Thursday, September 12 at 6 p.m. The Polish Facebook page for the event, with a map to the venue, is here. This talk, as well as the one in Cracow was organized and sponsored by the Polish Sceptic Club, the Polish Rationalist Association, Psyche Books & Cafe and web portal Racjonalista.pl. I believe there will be a public discussion on science and religion, and perhaps a spontaneous debate, earlier in the day; stay tuned for information.

I’ll be speaking in Cracow on Sunday, September 15, at 1:45 pm on the evidence for evolution, concentrating on human evolution. Curiously, it’s for the tenth Annual meeting of the Polish Society for Social Psychology.

The talk will be here:

Institute of Applied Psychology of the Jagiellonian University
Łojasiewicza Street 4, 30-348,
Cracow

This talk is sponsored by the Institute of Applied Psychology of the Jagiellonian University, Psyche Books & Cafe, and the “Pragma” Association of Psychological Sciences.

I’ll also be visiting Auschwitz, which is only 60 km from Cracow.

12 Comments

  1. Colin
    Posted August 30, 2013 at 4:34 am | Permalink

    I’d highly recommend the salt mines at Krakow if you are out that way, they are absolutely stunning.

  2. Michael Day
    Posted August 30, 2013 at 5:31 am | Permalink

    I’ll be in Pulawy, Poland September 12-15 to speak at a conference. Flying into Warsaw on the 12th. How interesting that my best bet to see you give a talk involves a flight to Poland!

  3. Jesper Both Pedersen
    Posted August 30, 2013 at 5:35 am | Permalink

    I’ll also be visiting Auschwitz, which is only 60 km from Cracow.

    Be sure to bring a handkerchief. I went there some years ago and the horrific stories and the atmosphere is absolutely gut wrenching.

  4. JBlilie
    Posted August 30, 2013 at 6:02 am | Permalink

    You will love Poland. Wonderful country, wonderful people, wonderful food and drink. Enjoy!

    • Posted August 30, 2013 at 10:05 am | Permalink

      I don’t mean to pick on you, but is there a country anywhere which would inspire the comment, “bad country, bad people, bad food and drink?”

      • Diana MacPherson
        Posted August 30, 2013 at 10:08 am | Permalink

        Maybe unremarkable country, unremarkable people, unremarkable food and drink & that’s the reason no one says it. :)

        • dongiovanni
          Posted August 30, 2013 at 4:58 pm | Permalink

          Well, Nowa Huta in Poland under communism might have warranted the comment.

      • Notagod
        Posted August 31, 2013 at 11:17 am | Permalink

        Vatican, is a bad country with bad people serving rancid food and drink found suitable only to vampires.

  5. Diana MacPherson
    Posted August 30, 2013 at 7:46 am | Permalink

    I’d have a hard time visiting Auschwitz. Close family friends from Holland had their grandparents taken in the night. My mom did some looking online and it seems that is where they died.

    The rest of your trip sounds cool though! :)

  6. Marta
    Posted August 30, 2013 at 8:53 am | Permalink

    I wondered if you were going to be taking in Auschwitz while you were there–I’ll be very interested in your comments about it.

  7. merilee
    Posted August 30, 2013 at 10:27 am | Permalink

    In which a cat waxes uppity with a young p*glet….

    http://www.wimp.com/swimmingpiglet/

    Sorry – I didn’t know how to send this as a separate post…

  8. Romuald.
    Posted September 2, 2013 at 5:37 am | Permalink

    Krakow is really cool. Warsaw, is, well, insignificant in comparison.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29,566 other followers

