Wily Japanese cat knocks on door

Okay, we’ve all seen elebenty gazillon cat videos, many on this site, but the ability of cats to manipulate their owners persistently and in new ways continues to emerge.  In this video, a Japanese cat has learned to kick a door with its hind paw, very rapidly, to get itself let into a room.

The title of the video, translated by Google, is “Mimi Chan fast roll,” and I’m told that Mimi is the cat’s name and Chan the honorific diminutive suffix.

Did you realize that cats could move their hindlegs so fast?

More LOLzy Google translation of the Japanese:

“I tried to collect high-speed roll knock Mimi Chan. Is unknown number of times and it seems to be more knock place 15 times from approximately 10 times per second. Comparable to or greater than high-speed continuous shooting SLR, you might be on a par with machine gun fast.”

h/t: Gattina, Scott

21 Comments

  1. darrelle
    Posted February 13, 2013 at 2:30 pm | Permalink

    Kitty wants in . . . . . NOW!

    I have seen cats move their limbs, both front and back, at comparable speeds. Usually when using my arm to practice ripping the guts out of prey or striking at something that they are scared of.

    • Marella
      Posted February 13, 2013 at 3:59 pm | Permalink

      Or scratching a flea.

  2. Aaron Siek
    Posted February 13, 2013 at 2:32 pm | Permalink

    This almost makes me glad my own grey cat, Tatu, only has one hind leg; she’d fall over if she tried this. (She came to me thus trimmed; I didn’t do anything, promise!) She has plenty of other tricks up her sleeve to get me to do her bidding, of course; she’s just more subtle about it than this kitteh.

  3. Posted February 13, 2013 at 2:44 pm | Permalink

    Just like Thumper the Wabbit. :)

  4. Derek
    Posted February 13, 2013 at 3:07 pm | Permalink

    OK, slightly less LOLzy, but here we go with a human translation:
    “Fast-knocking Mimi.
    I’ve made a collection of Mimi’s fast knocking. It seems to be about 10-15 knocks/second, but the exact number is uncertain. The speed may be comparable to or faster than a high-speed continuous shooting SLR, or comparable to a machine gun.”
    [As Jerry mentioned, the “-chan” is the familiar or diminutive version of the honorific “-san” (“Mr.”/”Mrs.”), for example applied to children or animals; so “neko-chan” is “Mr. Kitty”.]

    Nothing like glass doors with thin wooden frames for lots of noise.
    Cats scratch with their hind legs pretty fast, but I’ve never heard of a cat drummer before.

  5. still learning
    Posted February 13, 2013 at 3:41 pm | Permalink

    One of my cats knocks on windows with her front paws. She stands on her hind legs and bangs on the glass, alternating right and left paws. It’s a skating motion.

    Btw, JAC, you mentioned awhile ago you were going to post a picture of a trick your cat performed. Just a reminder…

    • Lars
      Posted February 14, 2013 at 1:18 pm | Permalink

      My Dad’s old black tom used to do that to the milkshute door when he wanted in. Dad would always drop whatever he was doing to expedite this demand.

  6. jesse
    Posted February 13, 2013 at 4:29 pm | Permalink

    I’ve seen them move their hind legs this fast when they get wet, or when something’s bothering them such as a spiderweb or sticky bit. But usually it’s followed by a quick run to try to get away from the offending thing.

    • Gregory Kusnick
      Posted February 13, 2013 at 4:46 pm | Permalink

      My cat makes exactly that motion when I’m trying to trim her rear claws.

      • jesse
        Posted February 13, 2013 at 6:06 pm | Permalink

        And after the run-away moment, there is the obligatory quick lick of the stifle, while muttering either “bastard” or “I meant to do that”.

        • jesse
          Posted February 13, 2013 at 6:07 pm | Permalink

          oooooh, I mean the cat does that : )

  7. krzysztof1
    Posted February 13, 2013 at 7:56 pm | Permalink

    Ausgezeichnete!

  8. DaveP
    Posted February 13, 2013 at 8:10 pm | Permalink

    When my big orange kitty wants out, he 1) scratches on the chair to wake me up 2) paws at the glass on the door and finally, 3) stands on his hind legs and tries to turn the doorknob. I think he’s frustrated he doesn’t have thumbs.

  9. BillyJoe
    Posted February 13, 2013 at 8:42 pm | Permalink

    I’m not a cat (hey, I’m not!), but I can make my chin quiver as if I’m freezing cold; and I can accurately mimic the rolling pin hand tremor of Parkinson’s Disease.

  10. infiniteimprobabilit
    Posted February 14, 2013 at 1:14 am | Permalink

    And the cat can do it with either leg! (How long till we see a video of some cat standing on its front legs and banging with both hind legs at once…?

  11. John Weiss
    Posted February 14, 2013 at 5:09 am | Permalink

    Um. Of course everyone who “owns” a cat has seen ‘em scratching themselves with a hind leg, right?

  12. kansaskitty
    Posted February 14, 2013 at 6:30 am | Permalink

    My kitties shake their hind legs like this when they come in from the cold – like they are trying to shake the cold off. They don’t beat on things though!

  13. starskeptic
    Posted February 14, 2013 at 7:38 am | Permalink

    My cat does the same thing in her litter-box, and a still-wet empty bath tub.

    • starskeptic
      Posted February 14, 2013 at 7:54 am | Permalink

      …maybe I should check the door on the litter-box…

  14. DrBrydon
    Posted February 14, 2013 at 2:25 pm | Permalink

    I knew a cat that was fed on a small plate, and when she wanted her dinner, she would sit by her plate, push down on one side with her paw, then let it fall back. A kitty version of the tin cup on the cell bars.

  15. Jim Thomerson
    Posted February 14, 2013 at 2:43 pm | Permalink

    One of my cats could open the folding door on the kitchen closet where the cat food was kept.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30,283 other followers

