LOLCAT exhibition: Brits, get your butts there

Okay, I expect my British ailurophilic readers to go to this free art exhibition, and I expect reports and photos:

Picture 1

Lolcat – Teh Exhibishun
A group art show exploring the weird and wonderful world of lolcats.

We’ve brought together an array of cool cats and witty kitties – including graphic designers, illustrators, photographers, animators and writers. Ignoring the crudely makeshift LOLCAT aesthetic, each of these artists has come up with their unique take on the theme to create a piece of beautiful, amusing and exquisitely crafted LOLCAT art.The exhibition takes place at The Framers Gallery with 50% of all proceeds going to Battersea Dogs & Cats Home. Admission is FREE

As I recall, the Battersea Dogs & Cats home was where David Cameron’s first Chief Mouser, Larry, came from. It turns out that Larry sucked at catching mice and was replaced last fall by “Freya” (see here for the distressing tail). The two cats apparently now share the job.

The BBC has a report on Teh Exhibishun, with a nice video (watch it!). Some of the art is nice, and here’s a sample:

Screen shot 2013-01-29 at 3.02.31 PM

You can see more examples at the HuffPo article on Teh Exhibishun.

I have to say that the British pronunciaton of LOLcat—LOALcat—is a bit jarring to me. It should be uttered with the long American vowely-speak: “LAWWWLcat”.

12 Comments

  1. Marcoli
    Posted January 29, 2013 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

    Thats why they spell it that way, so we Americans pronounce it funny.

  2. Posted January 29, 2013 at 1:38 pm | Permalink

    As a Brit, I pronounce LOLcat “Lollcat” (as in polecat) rather than “Loalcat” (as in coal cat). But then maybe you don’t pronounce “Loalcat” like I do. Oh, it’s so confusing! :-p

    • Posted January 29, 2013 at 1:40 pm | Permalink

      Actually, ignore my “as in” soundalikes, as they don’t soundalike. (A glass and a half of wine and I’m slurring in my own head.)

      • H.H.
        Posted January 29, 2013 at 1:48 pm | Permalink

        Ah, ok. That makes more sense. ;)

    • H.H.
      Posted January 29, 2013 at 1:48 pm | Permalink

      Yes, now I am confused! Pole and coal don’t rhyme in British English?

      To my American ear, the British speakers were pronouncing it like “lull cat.” I’ve always said it to rhyme with “toll cat.”

      • Posted January 29, 2013 at 1:58 pm | Permalink

        I would agree that it rhymes with “toll cat”. “Pole” and “coal” do rhyme for me. My warped mind started with “poll” cat and then though “hang on, there really is a polecat” without thinking it through…

        I find the “u” and “o” sound thing fascinating. As a southern Englishman, I am sometimes accused of saying “bus” like “boss” when to me they sound very different. It’s funny that you find that inverted and loll becomes lull! (Language is odd/udd!)

      • Posted January 29, 2013 at 3:48 pm | Permalink

        Well I’m British and it rhymes will tall cat.

  3. col
    Posted January 29, 2013 at 6:00 pm | Permalink

    Tails from the unexpected.

    (see here for the distressing tail)

  4. Posted January 30, 2013 at 12:52 pm | Permalink

    Open the link above for the Best Ceiling Cat.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25,599 other followers

