Cat contest: entries

Before you can look at these cat pictures you have to read the biology post about pronking (just below)!

On December 1 I announced yet another cat contest in which one winner would be chosen to receive an autographed and cat-drawing-embellished book. (BTW, I am still sending out books from the DWB offer, and have about eleven to go, so please be patient.) The deadline was January 1, and the goal was to take a piece of paper or other accoutrement and modify your cat’s face in a humorous way. One example was this:

yep-1

I received eleven “official” entriess and will show them all here, numbered.  Now I am going to make the final decision, but will also be informed by readers’ opinions if they’re expressed eloquently and clearly. So weigh in with your favorite number below.  Remember, only one opinion per customer, and no botting (that means you, Butter!).  Vote by number for one of the 11 entries; the winner gets an autographed book.

#1, from Beth:

Beth

Doc Bill entered his cat Kink twice, but I’ve chosen only one as the official entry.

This is #2 from Doc Bill, the official entry:

Kink entry

This is another Kink picture which is not an official entry:

Kink Teeth 1

#3, Dayo, entered by Michelle B.

Dayo

Michelle d entered two pictures; I chose one to be the official entry.

Entry #4 Michelle d:

Michelle d #1

Unofficial submission by Michelle d:

bGeZ5DjQDVF4mEV2wfICqulzAcepP77Wh9ouvmlBqF0-1

Entry #5, entered by Christopher on behalf of his daughter:

Nap Interrupted

Entry #6, From Sarah (see other attempts at her photostream)

Sarah

Entry #7, from Rose:

Rose

Entry #8, from Barbara:

Bobby

Entry#9, Vin entered cat Newton:

Vin

#10, from Grania:

Grania

#11, from Thomas:

Thomas

And of course there were failures—even some human blood was reported!

Kink failure

Cats are not cooperative:

Rose failure

Vote for one of the 11, but remember, your votes aren’t binding on me—though they could influence me.

Thanks for all the entrants who risked life and limb to humiliate their moggies but entertain the rest of us!

83 Comments

  1. Dominic
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 7:50 am | Permalink

    no. 5 for my part!

    • Graham Martin-Royle
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 11:54 am | Permalink

      Ditto, No. 5 gets my vote.

    • Jens Knudsen (Sili)
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:40 pm | Permalink

      No. 5 is indeed too adorable.

  2. Chris Quartly
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 7:52 am | Permalink

    I like number 5, a bit of original thinking! I was hoping to find the time to do something along the lines of number 8 but with a picture of Jerry! However, I did not get the chance in the end.

  3. Posted January 3, 2013 at 7:55 am | Permalink

    Hubby and I both love #5.

    That is very creative and different, and sends such a sweet message about the inner workings of basement cat.

  4. Posted January 3, 2013 at 7:56 am | Permalink

    Barbara at number 8 has my vote.

    • Matthew Cobb
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 7:57 am | Permalink

      And mine

      • MKray
        Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:29 am | Permalink

        and mine

        • Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:48 am | Permalink

          Ditto!

        • JonLynnHarvey
          Posted January 3, 2013 at 9:15 am | Permalink

          And mine

      • lamacher
        Posted January 3, 2013 at 9:49 am | Permalink

        No 8, agreed!

      • Posted January 3, 2013 at 12:58 pm | Permalink

        #8 as well

    • suwise3
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 11:40 am | Permalink

      Big yes for #8!

    • Michael Fisher
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 12:35 pm | Permalink

      8

    • Timothy Hughbanks
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 5:55 pm | Permalink

      Count me in for #8. (It’s a strange pic – you kinds think it is a woman weaking a cat mask over her eyes for a second.)

  5. gbjames
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 7:58 am | Permalink

    As a tech guy I must vote for Doc Bill’s #2.

    • docbill1351
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:28 am | Permalink

      Doc Bill (on his birthday, mind you, not looking for a sympathy vote, however … )
      and Kink approve this vote!

  6. Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:00 am | Permalink

    Can I vote for “all of the above?”

    b&

  7. Gmail
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:06 am | Permalink

    Number 5

    Sent from my iPhone

  8. Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:10 am | Permalink

    My vote is for #2 Doc Bill!

  9. pktom64
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:12 am | Permalink

    I’m not sure it would be fair to vote for me (#11) but I can at least indicate that I did put a little bit of honey on the back of the piece of paper in order to “succeed”. This was the most successful attempt out of more than 20 I think…

    • bric
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 11:03 am | Permalink

      Your #11 gets my vote; simply the most believable scenario

  10. John K.
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:13 am | Permalink

    Is #4B a viable choice? I think it is the best by far.

    • John K.
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:14 am | Permalink

      Bah, labels are ABOVE the pics.

      Another vote for #5, not 4B.

  11. George
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:17 am | Permalink

    I like #1 and #8.
    I didn’t dare try it with my cats.

    • suwise3
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 11:42 am | Permalink

      Since I tried that previous experiment of Simulating Scruffing on your cat by using a file folder clip, she has an Order of Protect out against me…

  12. Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:23 am | Permalink

    Not only did I read the one on pronking, I curated it at G+!

    No. 5 of course, though number 9 has understated elegance.

  13. Paul S
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:26 am | Permalink

    1 vote for #7. It has the appropriate amount of “I am not amused” and “you’ll pay for this later”.

  14. Steve
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:29 am | Permalink

    #9 — I tried it with my cats, who had other ideas…

    • Snuffy Smith
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 12:55 pm | Permalink

      I agree – #9!

  15. gmaduck
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:39 am | Permalink

    #7

    ________________________________

  16. Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:51 am | Permalink

    Entry #5, entered by Christopher on behalf of his daughter:

  17. Posted January 3, 2013 at 9:19 am | Permalink

    After having duly read about pronging, I have to admit I don’t like #5 at all. It doesn’t even seem to fit the (admittedly open-ended) intentions of the contest.

    Number 8 startles, and has a goofy semi-realism. I love it. Catwoman indeed. The eyes….

  18. LynnA (Ottawa)
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 9:26 am | Permalink

    I like #9 which made me think of French detective stories. Uncooperative #7 made me LOL

  19. Posted January 3, 2013 at 9:31 am | Permalink

    Entry #2 Doc Bill

  20. Elibeth Ramirez
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 9:39 am | Permalink

    vote for #6!!!

  21. Posted January 3, 2013 at 9:47 am | Permalink

    I like #11 from Thomas. Basement Cat gets teh Worm! (Beautiful green eyes, too – what is the pretty Kitteh’s name?)

    • pktom64
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 10:30 am | Permalink

      It was suppose to be a rat’s tail but I’m not very good at drawing.

      Her name is Baghera and I already submitted some pics to Jerry for a previous, already-ended, cat contest so maybe she’ll have her own post on this website one day! (but I know she’s not alone, waiting her turn) :)

      • Posted January 3, 2013 at 11:52 am | Permalink

        Jerry, if I may, I’d like to revise and extend my remarks up above (sixth top-level comment) to instead ask for a reinstitution of the frequent formal presentation of reader’s portraits of their feline overlords.

        KTHXBAI

        b&

        • whyevolutionistrue
          Posted January 3, 2013 at 12:04 pm | Permalink

          Yes, I know: I’ve been remiss because I’m busy and have had other things to post as well. But I’ve saved every reader’s cat, and will soon begin to post them again.

      • gravelinspector
        Posted January 9, 2013 at 3:13 pm | Permalink

        One of my friends was Chief Butler to a “Baghera”. Same colouration (of course!), but with 6 digits on each front paw and 7 on each rear.
        Lovely moggy.

  22. Grania Spingies
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 9:49 am | Permalink

    I rather like the Kink Failure photo.

    Is it not the essence of Cat to be uncooperative and turn the fail and humiliation back on the human?

    • Ludo
      Posted January 4, 2013 at 3:42 am | Permalink

      I support Grania’s choice: the (human) failures are cat victories.

      • Posted January 4, 2013 at 11:03 am | Permalink

        Hey! Whatever happened to rooting for the underdog — err, I mean, undercat! Certainly we humans are subservient to our cats, making us the undercats, no?

        • gravelinspector
          Posted January 9, 2013 at 3:15 pm | Permalink

          Carry on down that road and you’ll end up at the infamous butter-toast/cat levitation system.

  23. Mateus
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 9:57 am | Permalink

    Number 7 has a well groomed moustache, and that’s what I look for in a cat.

  24. Kevin Anthoney
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 10:03 am | Permalink

    No. 8 and No. 2 were the best, and No. 4 was a good idea. The others just looked like somebody holding a bit of paper up to a cat.

  25. StewedPrune
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 10:23 am | Permalink

    OK, I’ve read the post(and watched the video) about pronking antelope (not sure why it was necessary to do this first, though): now please can I register a vote for No. 8 (Barbara)? – also my thanks to you and all your correspondents for making WEIT so absorbing.

  26. HaggisForBrains
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 11:15 am | Permalink

    #5

  27. JBlilie
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 11:19 am | Permalink

    Hilarious! Thanks very much!

  28. JBlilie
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 11:19 am | Permalink

    #11

  29. Sastra
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 11:36 am | Permalink

    This is hard:

    I vote #8.

    (with a hat tip to #2, and a gracious bow to all the others.)

    • docbill1351
      Posted January 3, 2013 at 3:08 pm | Permalink

      If you check your hat you’ll find $5 in it. Just saying, there’s time to change your vote if, of course, you’re feeling appreciative for some reason.

      • Posted January 3, 2013 at 3:29 pm | Permalink

        Doc, I think Butters figured out your password again….

        b&

  30. aldoleopold
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 12:03 pm | Permalink

    #4

  31. nightglare
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 12:47 pm | Permalink

    8 is amazing!

  32. kansaskitty
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 2:40 pm | Permalink

    #9 for me!

  33. Mary
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 2:48 pm | Permalink

    Number 8 has my vote. It was startling.

  34. Marella
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 3:36 pm | Permalink

    I vote no 2 Doc Bill cause it’s the only one that actually made me laugh.

  35. Posted January 3, 2013 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

    Number 6. Only just started blogging and following you, so here’s my contribution just for fun! imgur.com/fnbeP

  36. Alektorophile
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 4:27 pm | Permalink

    No.5 has my vote.

  37. Diana Sapien
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 5:19 pm | Permalink

    Barbara, number 8. It made me laugh out loud.

  38. will
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 5:36 pm | Permalink

    Your blog inspired me to adopt a cat last month. His name is Mr. Al (don’t ask; a friend of mine named him). He somehow has figured out how to open the sliding closet door with his paws and jump up into the shelves of clothing where he burrows in amd rests for hours. I feel a bit guilty because I don’t have another cat to keep him company when I’m at work. There are dozens of “cat meowing” videos on youtube that people have posted of their pet, and I play one every few nights because Mr. Al loves the sound and climbs onto the chair and to the laptop and meows back st the video cats with longing in his voice. He’s quite interactive with the screen.

    I like #7.

    • Diane G.
      Posted January 4, 2013 at 1:05 am | Permalink

      I took in a stray because my “only cat” was so lively and seemed to need a playmate. Only Cat was not amused in the slightest.

      That was a year ago and they still have a prickly relationship . . .

      Congrats on Mr. Al!

      • Posted January 4, 2013 at 8:40 am | Permalink

        It’s because of similar concerns that Baihu is a single cat….

        b&

  39. Peg
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 5:45 pm | Permalink

    I like #9. Newton looks so sophisticated.

  40. Posted January 3, 2013 at 6:05 pm | Permalink

    #8

  41. Posted January 3, 2013 at 6:41 pm | Permalink

    Darn! I liked the Sabertoothy! Just the name and framing of it were enough for me! And, $7, who looks so much like my beloved Maine coon… We had 18 precious years together, he and I…

  42. Neil Schipper
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 8:12 pm | Permalink

    Entry #8, from Barbara was the only one whose novelty made me gawk greedily in confusion (possibly I’m a sucker for amazing teeth).

    And too many entrants couldn’t be bothered to try matching the background color of the prop to the animal’s fur.

    And why are you wasting my time? How did you know I’m this shallow?

  43. Jens Knudsen (Sili)
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 9:06 pm | Permalink

    What kinda cat is No. 7? I have one that looks just like it.

  44. Michael Bouchard
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 11:04 pm | Permalink

    I love number 11.

  45. stavana
    Posted January 3, 2013 at 11:28 pm | Permalink

    I like #8!

  46. caf
    Posted January 4, 2013 at 8:31 pm | Permalink

    Beth! No 1

  47. Posted January 4, 2013 at 9:14 pm | Permalink

    #8 is clever and original, and I like it a lot. However, the out and out best for me is #1. It just looks so realistic.

    I have to say though, kudos to anyone who managed to take such a picture of their cat. I tried, but my cat just wasn’t having it – he either wouldn’t sit still, or tried to eat the damned card. Little bugger.

  48. Bruce Lyon
    Posted January 7, 2013 at 7:52 pm | Permalink

    #8

  49. Posted January 8, 2013 at 12:34 am | Permalink

    It’s a shame this, posted by Richard Wiseman wasn’t an entry:

    http://richardwiseman.wordpress.com/2013/01/08/want-to-see-a-cat-illusion/

    • Diane G.
      Posted January 8, 2013 at 3:49 pm | Permalink

      Wow, spooky!

      • Posted January 8, 2013 at 4:29 pm | Permalink

        Oops! I hadn’t see latsot’s comment before I added mine below…

        /@

  50. Posted January 8, 2013 at 9:48 am | Permalink

    I am biased towards Sabertoothy, but will go with #7 with the moustache-on-a-stick.

  51. Posted January 8, 2013 at 11:03 am | Permalink

    Richard Wiseman just posted a picture that belongs in this thread: Abracat Lincoln!

    /@

  52. gravelinspector
    Posted January 9, 2013 at 3:17 pm | Permalink

    Cats are not cooperative:

    They are cooperative – but it may not be your agenda that they are cooperating with.
    (No vote : they’re all lovely in their own ways.)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28,793 other followers

