Country music week: Grand Finale

Here’s the finale of the 1993 documentary, “Women of Country,” sent to me by alert reader Linda Grilli. I spot at least three dozen country music stars joining in on Mary Chapin Carpenter’s “The Hard Way”—a song that’s clearly symbolic.

How many luminaries can you recognize? (Here’s the list, but don’t look until you’ve tried).  And there are more cowboy boots than you can shake a stick at!

And I might as well throw in one more great country song: “Passionate Kisses“, sung by Carpenter on the television show “The Texas Connection.” The song was written by Lucinda Williams, recorded by Carpenter in 1993, and charted at #87 on Country Music Television’s list of 100 best country songs of all time.

7 Comments

  1. Posted December 23, 2012 at 6:17 am | Permalink

    I think Lucinda Williams’ rendition of her own song is more passionate than Mary Chapin Carpenter’s:

  2. Curt Cameron
    Posted December 23, 2012 at 8:33 am | Permalink

    Lou Jost posted what I was going to: the Lucinda Williams version of her own song is way better than Carpenter’s. Lucinda’s voice and country twang are just the perfect match for country music. Another song of hers that I recommend is Sweet Old World. This song was also done by Emmylou Harris on her album Wrecking Ball.

    Another great that I would recommend was the guy who introduced Mary Chapin Carpenter in the video that Jerry linked to: Jerry Jeff Walker. Here’s him doing The Pickup Truck Song. Jerry Jeff is possibly my favorite country singer.

    • Posted December 23, 2012 at 5:57 pm | Permalink

      Curt, you are so right about Jerry Jeff. Pissin in the wind, Desperados waiting for a train, Up against the wall (Redneck mother), Mr Bo Jangles, LA Freeway, Night Rider’s Lament, and many more.

      • Posted December 23, 2012 at 6:02 pm | Permalink

        Night Rider’s Lament:

        • Curt Cameron
          Posted December 23, 2012 at 11:11 pm | Permalink

          That’s a great song of his.

          I’m pretty sure that’s Lloyd Maines on the steel guitar in that video. Lloyd is the father of Natalie Maines of the Dixie Chicks – Natalie’s the one who made the comment about Pres Bush when they were playing overseas and got them in so much trouble here at home.

  3. Michael Fisher
    Posted December 23, 2012 at 11:35 am | Permalink

    Regarding the hairspray promotional video:-

    Twenty years on is Big Hair still big in America?
    It’s my impression that it is & if I’m right… why?
    If I’m right is it more prevalent than average in the Country scene? Down South? In rural areas over The Big City?

    Do guys still ‘wear’ mullets south of the Mason-Dixon line :)

    I’m not taking the mickey ~ I think I see Big Hair everywhere today in the U.S. media/politics scene via my T.V. [esp. on the news] ~ both sexes indulging in spray tans, gleaming white ‘choppers’ & hair like cotton candy [BTW that disgusting stuff, in the UK, is called candy floss or candyfloss]

  4. Avis
    Posted December 23, 2012 at 11:59 pm | Permalink

    Jerry. I have really enjoyed you Country Music week. Thanks! Avis.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29,453 other followers

