Henri 4: The Haunting

I am coming down with a cold, dispirited about the many rude emails that have been posted (or have attempted to be posted) in the last few days, and so will probably limit myself to light entertainment today. I leave for Mexico tomorrow.

I am compelled to post the latest video of the dolorous and existential cat Henri,┬áback with a new presentation called “L’Haunting”.

“This is not a happy time of year for a black cat who does not suffer fools.”

The ending is ineffably sad.

18 Comments

  1. Dominic
    Posted October 31, 2012 at 4:46 am | Permalink

    Poor Jerry – all that travel in recycled air on aeroplanes takes it out of you. Sorry about unpleasant people & the cold. I find going around without a coat the best way of keeping well! (By the way, I was just looking up a Le Cat – but this was the 18th C French surgeon Claude-Nicolas Le Cat.)

  2. gbjames
    Posted October 31, 2012 at 5:11 am | Permalink

    “No one ever dresses as crippling self doubt.”

    great line.

    • yam
      Posted October 31, 2012 at 7:18 am | Permalink

      I’ll have that in mind all day. Love that line…

    • Lynn A (Ottawa)
      Posted October 31, 2012 at 8:42 am | Permalink

      Sub.

  3. Posted October 31, 2012 at 5:34 am | Permalink

    Thanks for posting. Made me smile. Happy Halloween. We’ve only really celebrated it here in the UK since E.T. came out. When I was a kid it was Bonfire Night.

    • Duncan
      Posted October 31, 2012 at 5:55 am | Permalink

      Perhaps our cousins across the pond would like to start celebrating Nov 5th because of the film V!

    • Dominic
      Posted October 31, 2012 at 6:18 am | Permalink

      Not strictly true, for me in rural Norfolk at least. When I was a child we had Halloween parties, toffee apples, bobbing for apples, etc, though it may have been connected with the harvest festival(a 19th Century tradition) as well. I recall we did a version of (the folk song) Widdecome Fair with the school children as the horse under a sheet. (I was the horse’s head!)

      “And all the long night he heard skirling and groans,
      All along, down along, out along, lee,
      From Tom Pearce’s old mare in her rattling bones”

      No pumpkins & no trick or treat however.

  4. Notagod
    Posted October 31, 2012 at 7:19 am | Permalink

    You simply must be feeling better by tonight. Howl-O-Ween is the bestest. And it only comes once a year :(

  5. JBlilie
    Posted October 31, 2012 at 8:15 am | Permalink

    I hope you are feeling better. Colds are going around here as well. Should be a fine, (almost) full-moon night tonight for wandering in the night.

  6. Gretchen Mattison
    Posted October 31, 2012 at 8:32 am | Permalink

    Boiled onions eaten with a knob of butter can work wonders for a cold (and garlic to keep the spooks away tonight) Get well soon.

  7. Posted October 31, 2012 at 8:49 am | Permalink

    Got all tangled up with “not logged in” – Sigh
    Poor Henri — cats have such innate dignity. Really, he is so well dressed by nature. I agree on the grotesque “Halloween Black Cat.” I once had a black cat who, if I got up in the night, would come up silently behind me and gently wrap his paws around my ankle. He let go if I stood still, and then there was the problem that I might stumble over him, as he walked in front of me through the dark house!

    • gbjames
      Posted October 31, 2012 at 9:09 am | Permalink

      “I might stumble over him, as he walked in front of me through the dark house”

      How can that be if you have owl eyes? ;)

      • JohnnieCanuck
        Posted October 31, 2012 at 2:15 pm | Permalink

        Good point. Maybe the house was absolutely pitch dark? Owls need at least starlight to see.

    • JohnnieCanuck
      Posted November 2, 2012 at 3:15 pm | Permalink

      One of my tuxies followed me outside in the wee hours of the night and rubbed up against my legs while I was gazing up at the stars through my binoculars. Not what you expect while standing in the middle of the road up at the end of a long driveway, with no streetlights. Took a second to figure it out because she was quite invisible.

      After the second time it happened, I already knew what to expect when I heard some small noises close by, in the back yard. After a while, I couldn’t quite convince myself that a cat would sound like that so I used my keychain light to discover a couple of deer browsing the crab apple tree beside me.

  8. Sarah Lawson
    Posted October 31, 2012 at 9:35 am | Permalink

    Henri is simply magnificent! I’m firmly in his fan club!

  9. Timothy Hughbanks
    Posted October 31, 2012 at 10:10 am | Permalink

    It seems like every time I mention to people how I’ve had so many colds when I was young(er) that I rarely run into a rhinovirus I can’t resist, some new or mutant strain makes a fool out of me. Sorry about the cold.

  10. will
    Posted October 31, 2012 at 11:55 am | Permalink

    Oh, what an indignity to dress this questioning existential cat in a sordid little costume! And he has no hands to remove it. He is trapped.

  11. Posted October 31, 2012 at 8:46 pm | Permalink

    Would it be bordering on sacrilege to post this here (Henri’s creator)?!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MM70ZR3lQDc

    I hope it doesn’t shatter Henri’s mystique (or should that be “mustique”?).

    Love what Will Braden says about his French accent. LOL!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,589 other followers

