Harcovers of WEIT available again

A while back, Amazon ran out of the hardcover version of WEIT, for —or so I had assumed—hardcover books eventually stop being printed after the paperback is available. In fact, since I had run out of hardcovers for gifts and the like, I had to buy some from used-book dealers.

For some reason, though, Amazon U.S. has the hardcover available again, and it’s a bargain: only $11.18, or only about a buck more than the paperback from Amazon. Just in time for Christmas!

I’m still getting requests to send out autographed and cat-illustrated books in return for donations to Doctors Without Borders, but unfortunately that offer expired last Wednesday, and I simply don’t have enough books—even with the new ones I’ve ordered—to accommodate new requests.  But I’ll always entertain requests to autograph and maybe even draw on copies that are sent to me, assuming that they’re accompanied by a self-addressed, postage-paid envelope. Email me if you want address details. One per customer, please!

Oh, and stay tuned: one awesome copy that’s triply-autographed will be up as a prize in the near future.

___________

UPDATE:  Alert reader Chris tried posting this, but somehow failed:

Daedalus Books has them for $5.98 so I bought two. One for me, one for my local library. They are a “bargain” books but unmarked. The spine, dust jacket and pages are all clean.

9 Comments

  1. Posted September 30, 2012 at 8:53 am | Permalink

    I think the exciting part about the hardcovers is, as Chris suggests, for libraries. I’ll have to see if any of the local ones are in need of a copy.

    b&

  2. nurnord
    Posted September 30, 2012 at 10:38 am | Permalink

    “triply-autographed”

    Jerry,
    I wonder is one of those Richard Dawkins ? Given his recent mention (and your own report of that piece) of WEIT…
    …If not, perhaps I can suggest it as a good idea (making it 4 !); the very same article mentioning WEIT by RD is a perfect segue into asking him to sign this copy !

    • gravelinspector
      Posted September 30, 2012 at 12:47 pm | Permalink

      Well, triply autographed is obviously going to pose some speculation, as I think JAC intends.
      JAC is an obvious signature.
      RD is certainly desirable.
      Hitch is plausible.
      SJG is not quite impossible (if someone had his autograph on a piece of paper large enough to be used for an end-paper, then added the others ; but that might be considered cheating. I can’t honestly see someone sacrificing an autograph of Charles Darwin, even for such a noble project.
      EO Wilson ; maybe not the most popular person round here, but indisputably an influential figure in evolutionary theory.
      The same goes for a certain squidly one.
      I think that’s enough rampant speculation for one post.

      • nurnord
        Posted September 30, 2012 at 1:54 pm | Permalink

        Well Hitch is in the same boat as Gould, surely ? There would have to be some sort of wizardry there too…
        I of course allowed for Jerry himself. Yes PZ seems a good bet, maybe with an opposing sketch of a cephalopod to counter the cat ! Actually an octopus strangling the cat would work !

        • nurnord
          Posted September 30, 2012 at 1:59 pm | Permalink

          Forgot to address Darwin and Wilson…
          Darwin does not fit at all to me, does not seem appropriate for a few reasons…Wilson…not fitting either.

        • gravelinspector
          Posted October 1, 2012 at 2:28 am | Permalink

          JAC knew Hitch, and Hitch seems to have been a more media-savvy person than Gould. Organising post-mortem signatures sounds credible to me. Gould died much longer ago, so if he did arrange for such post-mortem publicity, it’s far more likely to have been used by now.

  3. Torbjörn Larsson, OM
    Posted September 30, 2012 at 10:45 am | Permalink

    For a moment there I thought WEIT was so filled with cats that it needed haircovers.

    Oh, well. I guess the ultimate book of evolution – on cats – is worth waiting for.

  4. Posted September 30, 2012 at 2:24 pm | Permalink

    I would like to send my hardback to get signed. If you don’t mind sending me information to do that I would appreciate it.

    Date: Sun, 30 Sep 2012 14:15:30 +0000 To: wormdirtalways@hotmail.com

  5. Posted September 30, 2012 at 6:21 pm | Permalink

    i bought a hard cover coopy at Half Price Bookstore in Omaha, NE. They had several used copied in exceellent condition.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25,599 other followers

