Kitteh contest: Latke

Reader David sent a photo of his daughter’s cat, named “Latke” (latkes are potato pancakes: the apotheosis of Jewish cuisine). Re this name, David said, ” When I was married, we got the cat near Passover. My ex-celebrated the holiday, I never really did.”  He adds:

Thought you might like this one.  Its a photo that I took with my iphone of my daughter’s cat who decided to get comfortable in the middle of her coat on the dining room table.

What I didn’t notice was that in the background, you can see me taking the photo (into infinity) as well as my daughter taking a photo of the same moment with her camera.

I am divorced, so seeing my girls, the cat and going over my ex-wife’s house is always a once in a lifetime moment.

Here’s a really good random one for the record.

David adds this to ensure his bona fides in the Atheist Cat Club:

I just returned from the Philippines where I spoke at their first Atheist and Agnostic Convention. I was on with Dan Barker, Jeremiah Camara, Tanya Smith, and a few others. Fun trip, but exhausting to travel so far and return so soon.

You can find his description of the convention, and his talk, on his website, Paleolibrarian.

6 Comments

  1. Jean K
    Posted May 1, 2012 at 4:54 am | Permalink

    Not to be picky, but “got him around Passover” would explain the name “Matzoh,” not the name “Latke.” Cats named “Latke” are Chanukah cats!

    • daveau
      Posted May 1, 2012 at 7:57 am | Permalink

      I’d just blame the ex…

  2. daveau
    Posted May 1, 2012 at 7:58 am | Permalink

    Adorable. And a nice record of the event.

  3. Roz
    Posted May 1, 2012 at 1:42 pm | Permalink

    What a cute tortoiseshell kitteh-cah

  4. Marella
    Posted May 1, 2012 at 3:31 pm | Permalink

    Cute cat, nice coat too, no wonder s/he thought it look cosy.

  5. BigBob
    Posted May 1, 2012 at 3:49 pm | Permalink

    Latke – Nice!
    I don’t know what that colour/pattern is called but it always gives me the impression of being toasted.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29,385 other followers

