!!Important poll!!

You know I wouldn’t ask you to crash a poll unless something truly important was at stake. There are enough readers here, I think, to influence this poll at Pajiba, which was clearly created by a wrong-thinking person:

 Why are some people dog people, and some people cat people, and why are those two constituencies so hostile toward baby people?

I don’t understand these phenomena, myself. Personally, I am anti-cute puppy and adorable kitten, and I believe that devoting even a fraction of our unlimited Internet space to these two subjects is antithetical to good taste. I think it’s dopey. I currently write for a site that I love despite the fact that Corgi Fridays is a popular weekly feature, and where a post comparing dogs to “Mad Men” characters was one of the most popular of last week. I respect it, but I don’t get it. But show me an adorable baby, and I will awww with the best of them.

  • Adorable Pictures of Babies?
     5%
  • Adorable Pictures of Puppies?
     34%
  • Adorable Pictures of Kittens?
     27%
  • All of the Above
     21%
  • None of the Above
     10%

You know what to do. Vote here.  If cats win by noon tomorrow, I’ll give away an autographed copy of WEIT to any  an autographed copy of WEIT to one randomly-selected reader who says he/she has voted for kittehs in the comments below.  Be honest!  Just give your handle and say that you voted for teh kittehs.

Thank God Ceiling Cat they didn’t include squids. . . .

_____________

UPDATE: Oh dear, I meant ONE autographed copy to a randomly selected reader among those who votes for cats. I have only a dozen paperbacks left!  Apologies for the misunderstanding.

472 Comments

  1. Keith
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 7:19 am | Permalink

    I voted all of the above.

  2. Posted April 13, 2012 at 7:25 am | Permalink

    I’m not gonna lie to you; I tried to help you out, and I went to the website with every intention of voting for the kittens, but when I saw those pictures of the cute little baby pups, I just HAD to vote for the doggies. If
    only I had free will, I would’a used it to
    vote for the kitties, I swear! Ceiling cat, forgive me!

  3. blckCat
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 7:44 am | Permalink

    Voted for kittens!

  4. Posted April 13, 2012 at 7:50 am | Permalink

    Kittahs rule!

  5. Posted April 13, 2012 at 7:51 am | Permalink

    Kitties rule!

  6. Maple
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 7:53 am | Permalink

    Adorable Pictures of Kittens? For the win.

    Alas, site was missing:
    Adorable Pictures of Cephalopods?
    or
    Adorable Pictures of Slime Molds?

  7. Nick LaRue
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 8:02 am | Permalink

    Voted for kitehs. :)

  8. CortxVortx
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 8:04 am | Permalink

    Yes! A vote for cute, fuzzy, wide-eyed kittens!

  9. Joe Jarosak
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 8:22 am | Permalink

    Count me amongst the Kitteh voters. Delilah threatened to shread something if I didn’t.

  10. coyotenose
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 8:36 am | Permalink

    I voted for kittehs, then returned to lurking.

  11. BigBob
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 8:54 am | Permalink

    Yep, I’m in!

    Lovely, lovely Kittehs – 40%
    None of the Above – 25%

    so it isn’t over yet …

    Vote, vote, vote.
    Bob(Big)

  12. Posted April 13, 2012 at 8:54 am | Permalink

    Kittehs ftw. None of the above is now at 25% :(

  13. Posted April 13, 2012 at 9:14 am | Permalink

    Kittehs for the win!

  14. PigFish6
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 9:16 am | Permalink

    Voted for the kittehs!

  15. john maltby
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 9:33 am | Permalink

    I voted for kittens because my cat Ovid!

  16. Baktru
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 10:24 am | Permalink

    Voted for the kittycats after being led there by good old PZ. PZ’s great, but he cannot overcome the cyoot of kittycats.

  17. WML
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 10:39 am | Permalink

    I voted the right way, of course, despite my cat allergy.

  18. Duane
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 11:25 am | Permalink

    KITTENS HO!

  19. Yossarian?!!(?)!
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 12:09 pm | Permalink

    Another kitten voter here!

  20. Andrew
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 1:00 pm | Permalink

    Voted for cats!

  21. Tezcatlipoca
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 1:43 pm | Permalink

    I haz voted for Shiloh, Romeo, Weezer, Carmelo, and Shadow. I will now also cast a vote for Pudge…

    Ceiling Cat Haz Spoken!!!

  22. Lotharloo
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 1:49 pm | Permalink

    All heil ceiling cat! Voted for cats of course!

  23. mandrellian
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 2:43 pm | Permalink

    Voted.

    Prize nao?

  24. jillpoke
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 2:50 pm | Permalink

    Voted for the kitties! Looks like ‘none of the above’ is now at 29%. Oh noes- Go kitties.

  25. Jack BENTLEY
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 2:59 pm | Permalink

    Not too late?

  26. Alektorophile
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 3:22 pm | Permalink

    Voted for kittens, in memory of my childhood cat Jerry (true). I would have voted for goslings or ducklings, but that specific option was not offered, alas.

    Also, most babies are ugly, as are many puppies, but I haven’t yet seen a single ugly kitten in my life. So there, and may the tentacled overlord have mercy over me.

  27. chrissargent
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 4:45 pm | Permalink

    I’m allergic to felines, but I’ve voted for kittehs anyway. Now make with the signed copy of WEIT already!
    Only joking, hope we win. Go kittehs!

    PS: If I win, can I have it with a hand drawn squid instead? Thanks. ;-)

  28. Dominik Miketa
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 5:00 pm | Permalink

    Cats of course :P

  29. Kirsten
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 5:47 pm | Permalink

    I voted KITTEH!

    They’re in it to win it. (*gag*)

  30. Gert Jan
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 6:45 pm | Permalink

    I voted kitteh. Kitteh rulez.

  31. Dominique Poulin
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 8:53 pm | Permalink

    I voted kitteh.
    J’ai voté pour les minous, les chats, les gros minets, les miaou, les matous, les chattes, les chatons.

    All these words for cats. Enjoy

  32. Gayle
    Posted April 13, 2012 at 9:01 pm | Permalink

    voted for kitteh of course!

  33. Laura Norder
    Posted April 14, 2012 at 4:39 am | Permalink

    The feline furry home companions have my vote!

  34. Sylvain
    Posted April 14, 2012 at 9:54 am | Permalink

    What a useless poll…
    The answer is so obvious.

    But some people are unable to see it. That’s weird.

    So I voted for the obvious, i.e. ze kittehs.

  35. Posted April 14, 2012 at 10:07 am | Permalink

    Voted for kittehs, again, but noticed that the browsers for AOL and Internet Explorer (which AOL uses) are now blocking the webpage, so not only does it block further voting, it blocks even the sight of current stats, pictures, words, everything. This is blatant CENSORSHIP! Granted, it’s a totally separate issue, but knowing that you are all quite the intelligent audience, I thought you’d want to know where real internet censorship is occuring. I cast this last vote via Google Chrome. It is not censoring — at least, not yet.

    • Posted April 14, 2012 at 8:39 pm | Permalink

      Butter sez: clear thy cookies and jump up and down on the keyboard again. It’s working for him, excellently. I’m just having a beer and watching him go at it. It’s quite entertaining.

      • Posted April 14, 2012 at 8:54 pm | Permalink

        Excellent idea! Thank you, and kudos to Butter for all those kitteh votes! Will enter more votes ASAP, if clearing cookies works.

      • Posted April 14, 2012 at 9:07 pm | Permalink

        Butter was right! I got a bumch more votes in for the kittehs, and kittehs are at 46 percent! Thank you, Butters, and thanks, also, to Sasqwatch.

        • Dermot C
          Posted April 15, 2012 at 2:59 am | Permalink

          Docatheist and sasqwatch, I’m shocked. Youse wouldn’t by any chance be Putin supporters?

          On the hundredth anniversary of the Titanic’s sinking, remember, the Suffragettes revised their slogan to, “Votes for Women, Boats for Men”, but the policy of “Votes for Cats, as Many as you Want” seems to be taking things a bit far.

          • Posted April 15, 2012 at 6:36 am | Permalink

            Read far enough up the comment stream, and you’ll see it’s just good, old, Chicago politics: Vote early. Vote often.

            After all, the kittehs deserve it!

            • Dermot C
              Posted April 15, 2012 at 6:45 am | Permalink

              And which I quoted earlier in reference to Norn Irn politics, so there’s more than an element of sarcasm and hypocrisy in my previous post.

              Being Oirish myself, I wonder, with a frisson of apprehension and the anticipation of associative guilt, whether there is a connection between the statelet’s electoral corruption and the old Irish domination of Chicago politics.

              • Posted April 15, 2012 at 6:57 am | Permalink

                I SO want to add to that, and throw in the history of Prohibition (the Oirish do drink a little, don’t they?) and Mafia connections (a bit of Italian in with the Oirish), but I’m neither. Can I get away with it? What if I said I lived there for years and it is my favorite big city?

              • Dermot C
                Posted April 15, 2012 at 7:05 am | Permalink

                Your call, Doc – consult with JAC, if you’re worried? I’ll be offline for ages – family Sunday dinner to cook.

              • Posted April 15, 2012 at 7:21 am | Permalink

                Actually, I did the addition in the last reply, so it’s already out there. ;-)

  36. MaryS
    Posted April 14, 2012 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

    Voted for the kittehs!

  37. Posted April 14, 2012 at 6:13 pm | Permalink

    I voted for cats.

  38. Posted April 14, 2012 at 8:34 pm | Permalink

    Butter is EXTREMELY pissed at what remains of PZ’s minions, and is furiously jumping up and down on the keyboard in the back bedroom voting again and again and again and again and again and again…

    for kittehs. Somehow, he’s managed to single-pawedly swing the percentages by a few points in the last couple hours, keeping the cephaloclods at bay.

    Adorable Pictures of Babies? 2%
    Adorable Pictures of Puppies? 16%
    Adorable Pictures of Kittens? 44%
    All of the Above 7%
    None of the Above 28%

    Total Votes: 5,668

    It was 40%/30% kittehs/squiddles when I gave Butter the catnip a few hours ago; and look at the results!

  39. Janice J
    Posted April 14, 2012 at 9:04 pm | Permalink

    Hi,

    I voted for the kitties, of course.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27,028 other followers

